wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Warcraft III Modding > Artist's Corner > Model & .Mdl Editing Corner
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2008, 08:10 PM   #1
Troll-Brain
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,490

Submissions (1)

Troll-Brain has a spectacular aura about (134)

Default How to make an unit totally unselectable playing an animation?

I know these things :

- How to use the function SetUnitAnimationByIndex.
- Rename an animation avoid to play it automatically (when the unit walk, attack, and so on).
- Unselectable can't be used in an animation.
- Set the bound radius to 0.0 make the unit unselectable when the animation is playing but still selectable with a drag selection.
- We can deactivate the drag selection for all players and maybe for one player without a desynchronisation, but anyway i don't want that.
- We can play an animation for one player and not for the other with the function GetLocalPlayer.

My goal is to make an unit selectable only for the owner and unselectable for the other players, when i want.
But the unit must still be a possible target with a trigger action or an ability/attack with area effects/damage.

So the only way is to edit the model and triggering the animations.
The triggers are not a problem, but i don't have the knowledge to edit the model.

I've heard that it is possible with the geometry of the model.

I don't care about the final size of the model, i know it will be high.
Could you make me an example for a simple model and the animation walk ?

Plz don't talk me about the 'Aloc' ability or selection actions ...
__________________
Cool != Useful

Last edited by Troll-Brain : 07-15-2008 at 05:58 PM. Reason: an error on the title
Troll-Brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 07-26-2008, 11:15 AM   #2
Troll-Brain
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,490

Submissions (1)

Troll-Brain has a spectacular aura about (134)

Default

Any one could be enough kind to tell me how could i do that ?
__________________
Cool != Useful

Last edited by Troll-Brain : 07-26-2008 at 11:16 AM.
Troll-Brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 11:31 AM   #3
Rao Dao Zao
www.raodaozao.net
 
Rao Dao Zao's Avatar


MDL & Resource Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,436

Submissions (27)

Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)

Approved Map: When the Freedom Slips Away

Send a message via MSN to Rao Dao Zao
Default

There is an "Unselectable" tag that can be applied to a geoset, but I have no idea whether or not this affects drag selection.

The idea, then, would be to have duplicate animations that use a set of duplicate geosets that are all unselectable.
__________________
Rao Dao Zao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 05:12 PM   #4
Troll-Brain
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,490

Submissions (1)

Troll-Brain has a spectacular aura about (134)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rao Dao Zao
The idea, then, would be to have duplicate animations that use a set of duplicate geosets that are all unselectable.
Thx, but my skills in model editing are nearly null.
I said all i know about that in the first post of this thread ...
So could you give me an example of what you said ?
__________________
Cool != Useful

Last edited by Troll-Brain : 07-26-2008 at 05:13 PM.
Troll-Brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 05:59 PM   #5
Rao Dao Zao
www.raodaozao.net
 
Rao Dao Zao's Avatar


MDL & Resource Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,436

Submissions (27)

Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)Rao Dao Zao has a brilliant future (817)

Approved Map: When the Freedom Slips Away

Send a message via MSN to Rao Dao Zao
Default

This is the "MDL & Model Editing forum", not the "We-Do-Everything-For-You" forum. If you don't have the skills to make use of the information we give, find somebody that does.
__________________
Rao Dao Zao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 06:11 PM   #6
Troll-Brain
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,490

Submissions (1)

Troll-Brain has a spectacular aura about (134)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rao Dao Zao
This is the "MDL & Model Editing forum", not the "We-Do-Everything-For-You" forum. If you don't have the skills to make use of the information we give, find somebody that does.
I just need an example because i didn't found what i want in all mdl tutorials.
You don't waste your time to make an example, ok, but don't be sarcastic as well.
Thx.
__________________
Cool != Useful
Troll-Brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Donate

Affiliates
The Hubb http://bylur.com - Warcraft, StarCraft, Diablo and DotA Blog & Forums The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services