wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Warcraft III Modding > Artist's Corner > Model & .Mdl Editing Corner
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2006, 05:03 PM   #1
Dionesiist
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,163

Submissions (34)

Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)

Default Need some help!

Hello there. I tried to make a crystal model following Olof's tutorial, but I can't convert it back, cuz it says this: "Error reading model file: Error (line 1): expected "square 1/2", but found "square 1/2"
Warning (line 1): expected 1243072 "square 1/2", but found 95636372"
If anyone can help me!
__________________
Dionesiist is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 02-06-2006, 05:43 PM   #2
Whitehorn
SPOON!
 
Whitehorn's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: Sep 1983
Posts: 4,900

Submissions (114)

Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)

Default

You screwed up the MDL section somewhere.

Why didn't you post this in the MDL Editing forum? Again!
__________________
My Wargame

Be excellent to each other.
Whitehorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 06:56 PM   #3
TDR
♪♫
 
TDR's Avatar


Modeling & Gallery Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,481

Submissions (84)

TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)

Hero Contest #2 - 3rd PlaceConcept art session 6 - Sea dwellersModeling session 3 - Critters

Default

moved...
__________________
TDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 07:28 PM   #4
Dionesiist
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,163

Submissions (34)

Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)

Default

Can you help me or not? Maybe Olof can (It's his tutorial)
__________________
Dionesiist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 07:33 PM   #5
Whitehorn
SPOON!
 
Whitehorn's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: Sep 1983
Posts: 4,900

Submissions (114)

Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)

Default

You have to explain what you did and show us some code.
__________________
My Wargame

Be excellent to each other.
Whitehorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 07:50 PM   #6
Dionesiist
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,163

Submissions (34)

Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)

Default

Well, I just followed what Olof's tutorial said. I didn't understand this part really: "Copying the Materials
it's almost the same with the materials
copy this:

Code:
Material {
Layer {
FilterMode None,
static TextureID 0,
}
}and put it below it like this:

Code:
Materials 1 {
Material {
Layer {
FilterMode None,
static TextureID 0,
}
}
Material {
Layer {
FilterMode None,
static TextureID 0,
}
}
}once you've copied it, you need to change a few things in the code, change it to:

Code:
Materials 1 {
Material {
Layer {
FilterMode None,
static TextureID 0,
}
}
Material {
Layer {
FilterMode Additive,
static TextureID 1,
}
}
}as you can see, I only changed the "FilterMode" and the "TextureID" on one material, I left the first material unchanged."
And I don't understand if I must replace the first thing or write that stuff under it. I desperately need help!!!
Well, I'll try it again...
__________________

Last edited by Dionesiist : 02-06-2006 at 07:50 PM.
Dionesiist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 08:25 PM   #7
taplonaplo
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 237

Submissions (2)

taplonaplo has a spectacular aura about (77)taplonaplo has a spectacular aura about (77)taplonaplo has a spectacular aura about (77)

Send a message via MSN to taplonaplo
Default

i don't really understand ur problem. U need a new material for the ctystal effect to handle alpha channel in a different way (additive make it paritally transparent), so u mustn't overwrite the first material. About the texture ids its quiet useless to have 2 of the same texture, but doesn't count.

about the error, u didn't put a "}" somewhere, but don't ask me where
__________________

new eggy

Last edited by taplonaplo : 02-06-2006 at 08:28 PM.
taplonaplo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 08:29 PM   #8
Whitehorn
SPOON!
 
Whitehorn's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: Sep 1983
Posts: 4,900

Submissions (114)

Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)Whitehorn is a name known to all (510)

Default

What else did you edit?
__________________
My Wargame

Be excellent to each other.
Whitehorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 08:54 PM   #9
Jacek
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,095

Submissions (1)

Jacek is a jewel in the rough (164)Jacek is a jewel in the rough (164)

Send a message via MSN to Jacek
Default

Use War3ModelEditor to open your mdl. Model editor shows more detailed error info.
Jacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 06:58 AM   #10
Dionesiist
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,163

Submissions (34)

Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)

Default

I managed to convert it, but there is one geoset that is blank and the second that is visible. Better said, I can't create the second geoset, the layer that's over the model!
__________________
Dionesiist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 06:44 PM   #11
taplonaplo
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 237

Submissions (2)

taplonaplo has a spectacular aura about (77)taplonaplo has a spectacular aura about (77)taplonaplo has a spectacular aura about (77)

Send a message via MSN to taplonaplo
Default

Have u set the material id for the 2nd geoset?
__________________

new eggy
taplonaplo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 08:37 AM   #12
Dionesiist
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,163

Submissions (34)

Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)

Default

Aye
__________________
Dionesiist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 01:21 PM   #13
Jacek
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,095

Submissions (1)

Jacek is a jewel in the rough (164)Jacek is a jewel in the rough (164)

Send a message via MSN to Jacek
Default

Why you don't just attach the model and let us look on it?
Jacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 05:42 AM   #14
Dionesiist
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,163

Submissions (34)

Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)Dionesiist is just really nice (382)

Default

Oops, In my rage, I accidentaly deleted it.
__________________
Dionesiist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 07:49 AM   #15
olofmoleman
Baron Grunwald is.
 
olofmoleman's Avatar


Texturing Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,541

Submissions (106)

olofmoleman has a brilliant future (953)olofmoleman has a brilliant future (953)olofmoleman has a brilliant future (953)olofmoleman has a brilliant future (953)olofmoleman has a brilliant future (953)

Approved Map: Jurassic ExplorationSmiley contest 1st, 2nd and 3rd place.Skinning Competetion #4 - FallenSkinning Competetion #4 - Atoned

Default

from what I can tell from all the posts, it looks like you screwed up the code somewhere. But I can't help any further, that tutorial explains it the best I can. So I suggest you start over and read the tutorial carefully.
__________________

Olof Moleman AKA Lord Trilobite
My Wc3c Resources


I'm not doing requests, don't pm me about it


~The Arch-enemy of Mc!~
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rao Dao Zao
Olof always speaks true.
olofmoleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services