wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Resources > Code Resources > Samples
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2006, 07:06 PM   #1
shadow1500
STARCRAFT II OMFG
 
shadow1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,004

Submissions (9)

shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)

Send a message via ICQ to shadow1500 Send a message via AIM to shadow1500 Send a message via MSN to shadow1500
Default Automatic Quest System (Multiplayer Compatible)

An automatic quest system, you do not need to use any variables or other stuff to store ur quests, a simple id system allows you to access each quest and easily find if its complete/discovered/undiscovered.
it is multiplayer compatible, and it doesnt create a quest for each player, instead, it creates a quest as soon as its needed and then recycles it for other players.
This system has many additional features to the old Wc3 Quest system
1. Multiplayer compatible (And optimized for it as well)
2. Display Quest Messages Automatically
3. Quest Requirment Counters (As seen by the screenshot)
4. Simple ID system instead of using endless variables to store everything
5. Create the quest effect more easily (Works in Multiplayer)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg QuestPic.jpg (45.4 KB, 1777 views)
Attached Files
File Type: w3x AutoQuestSystem1.1.w3x (42.1 KB, 1423 views)

Last edited by shadow1500 : 01-15-2006 at 07:54 PM.
shadow1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 01-15-2006, 07:31 PM   #2
Vexorian
Free Software Terrorist
 
Vexorian's Avatar


Technical Director
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14,898

Submissions (37)

Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)

Hero Contest #3 - 2nd Place

Default

was not able to find obvious leaks. And the system is pretty good and seems that it might be really useful.

Aproved + rep
__________________
Zoom (requires log in)Wc3 map optimizer 5.0
Someone should fix .wav sound in this thing.
Zoom (requires log in)JassHelper 0.A.2.A
Turns your simple code into something that is complicated enough to work.
Faster != more useful
Vexorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 07:39 PM   #3
Blade.dk
.
 
Blade.dk's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,990

Submissions (15)

Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)

Approved Map: Azeroth's Arcane ArenaSpell session 01 winner

Send a message via MSN to Blade.dk
Default

Funny that Vex checked it at the same time, hehe.

Well, I checked it, it has locals not set to null leaks, you should try to fix them.

And replace this:

Collapse JASS:
function InitQuestSystem takes nothing returns nothing
     set udg_hash = InitGameCache("handlevars.w3v")
     set udg_questsys = InitGameCache("questsys.w3v")
endfunction

with this:

Collapse JASS:
function InitQuestSystem takes nothing returns nothing
     call FlushGameCache(InitGameCache("handlevars.w3v"))
     set udg_hash = InitGameCache("handlevars.w3v")
     call FlushGameCache(InitGameCache("questsys.w3v"))
     set udg_questsys = InitGameCache("questsys.w3v")
endfunction

To fix a nasty Blizzard bug that Vexorian found, read about it here.

Pretty nice system :).
__________________
Spell Making Course: Part 1: Making a simple stomp spell.
I wonder if I'll ever finish part 2.
Blade.dk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 07:53 PM   #4
shadow1500
STARCRAFT II OMFG
 
shadow1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,004

Submissions (9)

shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)

Send a message via ICQ to shadow1500 Send a message via AIM to shadow1500 Send a message via MSN to shadow1500
Default

ty blade, submitted updated version, dunno how to update it in the original post though >_<
shadow1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 08:03 PM   #5
Blade.dk
.
 
Blade.dk's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,990

Submissions (15)

Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)Blade.dk is a glorious beacon of light (418)

Approved Map: Azeroth's Arcane ArenaSpell session 01 winner

Send a message via MSN to Blade.dk
Default

Edit Post --> Go Advanced --> Manage Attachments.

EDIT: Updated it in the first post for you :).
__________________
Spell Making Course: Part 1: Making a simple stomp spell.
I wonder if I'll ever finish part 2.
Blade.dk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 12:42 PM   #6
boomwolf
User
 
boomwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 67

Submissions (1)

boomwolf has little to show at this moment (4)

Default

wonderfull thing!!! very well done!!! dude you are amazing!
but this system is really complex! i dont understand half of it! ho well time to learn some more triggering...
__________________
bla...project call of darkness is lost cuz my computer had a hard virios that took down everything...
so insted i gonna foucse on a gnoll race once i get my WC3 back...
progress:
get WC3-X
get models-50%
do buildings-X
do units-X
do heros-X
testing and balancing-X
boomwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 11:20 PM   #7
shadow1500
STARCRAFT II OMFG
 
shadow1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,004

Submissions (9)

shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)

Send a message via ICQ to shadow1500 Send a message via AIM to shadow1500 Send a message via MSN to shadow1500
Default

Quote:
wonderfull thing!!! very well done!!! dude you are amazing!
ty
Quote:
this system is really complex! i dont understand half of it! ho well time to learn some more triggering...
u dont have to understand it to use it, its very simple to use once you get used to it, look in the help section in the trigger editor, it has explanations for all the functions and how to use them.
shadow1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 04:49 PM   #8
Meanie
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 152

Meanie is on a distinguished road (13)

Default

i have 4 players in my map and they have 4 diffrent heroes and all those heroes does the same quest is it supposed to work then? coz the globals will just over write each other?and then absolutely nothing works.... havent tested it yet
Meanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 09:54 PM   #9
shadow1500
STARCRAFT II OMFG
 
shadow1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,004

Submissions (9)

shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)

Send a message via ICQ to shadow1500 Send a message via AIM to shadow1500 Send a message via MSN to shadow1500
Default

When i say multiplayer compatible, that means that two players can have the quest at the same time and have different progress, like player 1 only done the first requirment, but player 2 has finished the second requirment.
There are no globals used in the map, except the game cache variable, and a string array which is used as global (so that the game doesnt have to find memory locations for 8000 strings each time a quest updates)
shadow1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 11:40 AM   #10
Medivh
User
 
Medivh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8

Medivh has little to show at this moment (0)

Send a message via MSN to Medivh
Default

Yes, I'm a bit of a noob, my question: How do you put this quest system in your map?
__________________
*~//-Medivh Shadowsong-\\~*
Medivh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 02:56 PM   #11
shadow1500
STARCRAFT II OMFG
 
shadow1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,004

Submissions (9)

shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)

Send a message via ICQ to shadow1500 Send a message via AIM to shadow1500 Send a message via MSN to shadow1500
Default

You have to copy the code at the custom script section, look in the trigger editor, ur map's name is at the upper-left, Copy the code inside to the same place in ur map.
There are 3 needed variables, questsys - gamecache, hash - gamecache and ArrayVar - string array,
make those variables in ur map, and then u can freely use all functions as specified in the help section.
shadow1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 10:43 AM   #12
Medivh
User
 
Medivh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8

Medivh has little to show at this moment (0)

Send a message via MSN to Medivh
Default

Okey dokey,thx !
__________________
*~//-Medivh Shadowsong-\\~*
Medivh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 07:28 PM   #13
Meanie
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 152

Meanie is on a distinguished road (13)

Default

Got a hand of this now so its the ultimate quest system...but you should add Follow up feature so only when a player have done the last quest he can do the next....like in WoW, but its easy to make that self only make an Boolean variable with an array blah blah blah
Meanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 05:59 PM   #14
Chuckle_Brother
Oh for the sake of fudge
 
Chuckle_Brother's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 782

Submissions (2)

Chuckle_Brother will become famous soon enough (53)Chuckle_Brother will become famous soon enough (53)

Send a message via ICQ to Chuckle_Brother Send a message via AIM to Chuckle_Brother Send a message via MSN to Chuckle_Brother Send a message via Yahoo to Chuckle_Brother
Default

Nice system, might be better though if you add some stuff to the player's quest menu, maybe change optional to "Completed" and the other to "Active".
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Chuckle_Brother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 08:27 PM   #15
shadow1500
STARCRAFT II OMFG
 
shadow1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,004

Submissions (9)

shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)

Send a message via ICQ to shadow1500 Send a message via AIM to shadow1500 Send a message via MSN to shadow1500
Default

When a quest is completed, it is removed, it is intended to be this way.
Since this system is for multiplayer, completed quests will cause unneccecary lag, espacially if u have lots of quests.
shadow1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services