wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Warcraft III Modding > Artist's Corner > Skinning / Texturing
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2008, 11:33 PM   #1
pandamoniuman
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7

pandamoniuman has little to show at this moment (0)

Default How to change the texture a model uses in game

Basically I'm working on a custom model for an rpg, and I want to be able to change which texture the model uses when he changes equipment. So when he equips leather armor, I want the model to use leather.blp, when he equips plate, i want the model to use plate.blp

Anyway to do this? Any ideas welcome, thank you
pandamoniuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 05-12-2008, 12:31 AM   #2
Rising_Dusk
Obscurity, the Art


Projects Director
Project Leader: OD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9,729

Submissions (27)

Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)

Hero Contest #3 - 1st PlaceApproved Map: Desert of ExileApproved Map: Advent of the ZenithHero Contest #2 - 1st PlaceHero Contest - Third place>

Send a message via AIM to Rising_Dusk Send a message via MSN to Rising_Dusk
Default

Import all of the textures to the model and use different materials and show/hide different geosets for each alternate form.
__________________
Rising_Dusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 02:22 PM   #3
unwirklich
insubstantial
 
unwirklich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 679

Submissions (24)

unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)

Skinning Contest 9 ~ BeastmasterSkinning Contest 8 ~ Blood Mage

Default

woah... this is possible?
i always thought about that, but since i never tried to model i had no idea that this could be.

just a question: is it much work to make a small tutorial, how to do that?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rising_Dusk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwirklich
do you have any idea how much efford it is to make an interface? i dont just think them into existence in two or five minutes...
but thanks for the positive feedback anyways^^
unwirklich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 04:06 PM   #4
Rising_Dusk
Obscurity, the Art


Projects Director
Project Leader: OD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9,729

Submissions (27)

Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)

Hero Contest #3 - 1st PlaceApproved Map: Desert of ExileApproved Map: Advent of the ZenithHero Contest #2 - 1st PlaceHero Contest - Third place>

Send a message via AIM to Rising_Dusk Send a message via MSN to Rising_Dusk
Default

Yes, it's very possible, similar in nature to how the Druid of the Claw can change to bear or back. Geosets just get visibility shuffled around and you can see different parts at different times. I don't think it'd be too insane to write such a tutorial, though I hardly consider myself the technical genius to write such a thing. Perhaps I can get TDR to do it...
__________________
Rising_Dusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 07:38 PM   #5
erwtenpeller
*****istrator
 
erwtenpeller's Avatar


Art Director
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,759

Submissions (35)

erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)

Skinning Contest 7 ~ Were-AnimalsConcept art session 3 - Dungeon

Default

Problem with this is animation data though, you need to have a diffrent set of animations for each "form" or "texture". The gain of doing it all on one model is so little that you might as well use diffrent models, wich in a way, you are.

But to awnser the question: No. There is no way to swap textures around in wc3. You need a diffrent model or geoset for each texture.
__________________
erwtenpeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 07:42 PM   #6
Rising_Dusk
Obscurity, the Art


Projects Director
Project Leader: OD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9,729

Submissions (27)

Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)

Hero Contest #3 - 1st PlaceApproved Map: Desert of ExileApproved Map: Advent of the ZenithHero Contest #2 - 1st PlaceHero Contest - Third place>

Send a message via AIM to Rising_Dusk Send a message via MSN to Rising_Dusk
Default

Actually, from a programming standpoint it's hugely beneficial to have it all on one model. You don't need to morph the unit ever then, you can just attach a different required animation string and trigger it all; it's extremely convenient. From an artist standpoint, though, I imagine it probably would still save space in the long run since it'd require only one portrait model and would use the same skeleton.
__________________
Rising_Dusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 08:22 PM   #7
TDR
♪♫
 
TDR's Avatar


Modeling & Gallery Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,481

Submissions (84)

TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)

Hero Contest #2 - 3rd PlaceConcept art session 6 - Sea dwellersModeling session 3 - Critters

Default

Couldn't you just have a skeleton with very, very tiny cubes attached to the bone so you won't see them (that's if just bones and no mesh doesn't work) and make separate models for body parts and attach them to the skeleton?

And the textures could be controlled via the part model's animation. As far as I know, you can access other animation names through jass other than the standard ones, so you could make many animations on that model, but not really animations...just separate them in the dope sheet editor, and in each animation you hide the mesh with a material and unhide another one with another material and so on.

For example, you have a wrist guard. You duplicate it in place for as many times as you need and give each copy a unique material with unique textures. Then in the animations you hide/unhide them as you need. So to change the texture in wc3, you can basically set it to play the animation you want. I think this could be possible.
__________________
TDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 03:17 AM   #8
erwtenpeller
*****istrator
 
erwtenpeller's Avatar


Art Director
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,759

Submissions (35)

erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)

Skinning Contest 7 ~ Were-AnimalsConcept art session 3 - Dungeon

Default

yes, exactly, that works. But thats still not actually swapping textures; its swapping geometry.
__________________

Last edited by erwtenpeller : 05-13-2008 at 03:18 AM.
erwtenpeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 03:26 AM   #9
TDR
♪♫
 
TDR's Avatar


Modeling & Gallery Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,481

Submissions (84)

TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)TDR has much to be proud of (701)

Hero Contest #2 - 3rd PlaceConcept art session 6 - Sea dwellersModeling session 3 - Critters

Default

Aye. I don't think swapping the actual textures on models is possible.
__________________
TDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 11:46 AM   #10
erwtenpeller
*****istrator
 
erwtenpeller's Avatar


Art Director
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,759

Submissions (35)

erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)

Skinning Contest 7 ~ Were-AnimalsConcept art session 3 - Dungeon

Default

Well there is one exception. There is a material that uses several textures and swaps them depending on the terrain, i think its used for trees. Maybe you cal somehow create code to make use of that feature.
__________________
erwtenpeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 04:07 AM   #11
Mc !
Master Creator !
 
Mc !'s Avatar


Acting art director
Project Member: WotTH
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,432

Submissions (101)

Mc ! has a reputation beyond repute (1118)Mc ! has a reputation beyond repute (1118)Mc ! has a reputation beyond repute (1118)Mc ! has a reputation beyond repute (1118)Mc ! has a reputation beyond repute (1118)Mc ! has a reputation beyond repute (1118)Mc ! has a reputation beyond repute (1118)

Hero Contest #3 - 2nd PlaceModeling session 2 - Chimeras

Send a message via MSN to Mc !
Default

If you use a composite material you can swap textures by changing the alpha of one to 0 (Blizzard uses that in Grom's morph animation). The only problem with it is that it multiplies polies by 'n' being n the number of textures you use.

But of course you need a custom model.
__________________

Awesomeness = #Rep / #Posts
Mc ! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 11:32 AM   #12
erwtenpeller
*****istrator
 
erwtenpeller's Avatar


Art Director
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,759

Submissions (35)

erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)

Skinning Contest 7 ~ Were-AnimalsConcept art session 3 - Dungeon

Default

would that be accompanied by animation data for every instance of "n" as well? If not, that would definetly be the most cost-efficiant way of doing multile textures.
__________________
erwtenpeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 08:06 PM   #13
unwirklich
insubstantial
 
unwirklich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 679

Submissions (24)

unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)

Skinning Contest 9 ~ BeastmasterSkinning Contest 8 ~ Blood Mage

Default

sounds like more work than expected first.

i guess it is also not possible to change the model without replacing the whole unit, right? like making a jass script that changes just the .mdl file of the unit data? ...or could this be done with just a modyfied troll-berserk upgrade?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rising_Dusk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwirklich
do you have any idea how much efford it is to make an interface? i dont just think them into existence in two or five minutes...
but thanks for the positive feedback anyways^^

Last edited by unwirklich : 05-14-2008 at 08:07 PM.
unwirklich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 08:28 PM   #14
Rising_Dusk
Obscurity, the Art


Projects Director
Project Leader: OD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9,729

Submissions (27)

Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)Rising_Dusk has a reputation beyond repute (1192)

Hero Contest #3 - 1st PlaceApproved Map: Desert of ExileApproved Map: Advent of the ZenithHero Contest #2 - 1st PlaceHero Contest - Third place>

Send a message via AIM to Rising_Dusk Send a message via MSN to Rising_Dusk
Default

You can change it using the chaos ability, yes, but there is no script function for changing a model of a unit at runtime, unfortunately.
__________________
Rising_Dusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 08:46 PM   #15
unwirklich
insubstantial
 
unwirklich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 679

Submissions (24)

unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)unwirklich is a splendid one to behold (618)

Skinning Contest 9 ~ BeastmasterSkinning Contest 8 ~ Blood Mage

Default

well thats sad.
looks like one has to deal with that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rising_Dusk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwirklich
do you have any idea how much efford it is to make an interface? i dont just think them into existence in two or five minutes...
but thanks for the positive feedback anyways^^
unwirklich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services