wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Warcraft III Modding > Developer's Corner > General Development
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-19-2009, 10:27 PM   #31
Anachron
User
 
Anachron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,079

Anachron will become famous soon enough (51)Anachron will become famous soon enough (51)

Default

Hmm yes, I think I have to agree with you.

Anyway, if dreams come true, we might get a chance to suggest a few new things, maybe in Starcraft II or so.
__________________
CustomInventory [Discussion - Download] - Got Directors Cut!
CustomMissle [Discussion - [Download (not yet)] - In development!
Other systems [Spawn System] [Move System] [CustomBar] [SpellBar]
Anachron is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 08-20-2009, 01:20 PM   #32
Fledermaus
default string
 
Fledermaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 705

Submissions (1)

Fledermaus is a jewel in the rough (194)Fledermaus is a jewel in the rough (194)Fledermaus is a jewel in the rough (194)

Send a message via MSN to Fledermaus
Default

More than 5 Hero abilities per hero.
Fledermaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 02:10 PM   #33
Tot
6
 
Tot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 841

Tot will become famous soon enough (53)Tot will become famous soon enough (53)

Default

AND:
multidimensional arrays

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anachron
Memory leaks can not be cleaned, since you don't know if you need the data or not.

simply 'hide' all datas (remove from memory, save to disk; if distroy is called or game is quit remove it from disk)
__________________
Current Projects:
  • Masters Of WarCraft: Some mixture of AoS and RPG
    Terrain: 100%, Coding: 75%, Heroes: 0%, Items: 0%, Creeps: 0%, Upgrades: 0%
  • hunting emos
____________________________________
scheiss kack dreck sausacksau bundeswehr

Last edited by Tot : 08-20-2009 at 02:13 PM.
Tot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 05:09 PM   #34
Opossum
User
 
Opossum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 205

Submissions (4)

Opossum will become famous soon enough (59)Opossum will become famous soon enough (59)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tot
AND:
multidimensional arrays
Actually there's already a way to do multidimensional arrays with vJass.
You probably know about 2-D arrays. 2-D array + 2-D array = 3-D array:
set 2DArray1[1][2DArray2[2][3]] = somevalue You have to initialize that array though in a similar fashion like vJass initializes its 2D-array. It's not that pretty either and you have to make sure that the product of the array sizes is below 8192 but it works. Already used it for a 3D array for multiboard items per player.
__________________

Newest version: 2.0 Alpha 006c

Last edited by Opossum : 08-20-2009 at 05:21 PM.
Opossum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 05:16 PM   #35
Ignitedstar
Moderator
 
Ignitedstar's Avatar


RP Section Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,755

Ignitedstar has a spectacular aura about (102)Ignitedstar has a spectacular aura about (102)Ignitedstar has a spectacular aura about (102)Ignitedstar has a spectacular aura about (102)

Send a message via MSN to Ignitedstar Send a message via Yahoo to Ignitedstar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anachron
  1. TriggerClearEvents()
  2. EVENT_PLAYER_UNIT_DAMAGED
  3. GetUnitDamage()
I think everyone's been wanting this for forever. Besides, it would benefit DotA. Now, we just need to find a way to tell them that. Once they put in those, there will never be a need for a damage detection system, ever again. Unless you want to define your own attack/armor types.
__________________
Current Activity: It's a secret, now.
Evaluation: I actually logged in?!?!
"If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love,
I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.
If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge,
and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing."

1 Corinthians 13:1-2

Current Works:
None.
Ignitedstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 05:35 PM   #36
Tot
6
 
Tot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 841

Tot will become famous soon enough (53)Tot will become famous soon enough (53)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opossum
Actually there's already a way to do multidimensional arrays with vJass.
You probably know about 2-D arrays. 2-D array + 2-D array = 3-D array:
set 2DArray1[1][2DArray2[2][3]] = somevalue You have to initialize that array though in a similar fashion like vJass initializes its 2D-array. It's not that pretty either and you have to make sure that the product of the array sizes is below 8192 but it works. Already used it for a 3D array for multiboard items per player.

you're right, but it's complicated and does not work in GUI and it wouldn't be complicated for blizz to enable them (they use n-D arrays for their own triggers/spells)
__________________
Current Projects:
  • Masters Of WarCraft: Some mixture of AoS and RPG
    Terrain: 100%, Coding: 75%, Heroes: 0%, Items: 0%, Creeps: 0%, Upgrades: 0%
  • hunting emos
____________________________________
scheiss kack dreck sausacksau bundeswehr
Tot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 05:57 PM   #37
Anachron
User
 
Anachron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,079

Anachron will become famous soon enough (51)Anachron will become famous soon enough (51)

Default

What about
Assoziative arrays?
Timed waits which actually can wait about 0.00000000001 seconds long?
__________________
CustomInventory [Discussion - Download] - Got Directors Cut!
CustomMissle [Discussion - [Download (not yet)] - In development!
Other systems [Spawn System] [Move System] [CustomBar] [SpellBar]
Anachron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 05:59 PM   #38
Vexorian
Free Software Terrorist
 
Vexorian's Avatar


Technical Director
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14,898

Submissions (37)

Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)

Hero Contest #3 - 2nd Place

Default

Quote:
Timed waits which actually can wait about 0.00000000001 seconds long?
Like that was possible in any programming language...

Quote:
you're right, but it's complicated and does not work in GUI and
...
Quote:
it wouldn't be complicated for blizz to enable them (they use n-D arrays for their own triggers/spells)
None of their own triggers use nd arrays. Their spells are in C/C++, and probably might use them, but adding them to a scripting language is not really as trivial as just 'enabling' them. It would probably be even much harder to add them to GUI. There are a lot of much easier things that they weren't able to add to it.
__________________
Zoom (requires log in)Wc3 map optimizer 5.0
Someone should fix .wav sound in this thing.
Zoom (requires log in)JassHelper 0.A.2.A
Turns your simple code into something that is complicated enough to work.
Faster != more useful
Vexorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 06:09 PM   #39
Tot
6
 
Tot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 841

Tot will become famous soon enough (53)Tot will become famous soon enough (53)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vexorian
None of their own triggers use nd arrays. Their spells are in C/C++, and probably might use them, but adding them to a scripting language is not really as trivial as just 'enabling' them. It would probably be even much harder to add them to GUI. There are a lot of much easier things that they weren't able to add to it.

They needn't to import 1000000-D arrays, but at least something between 2-10 D-arrays would be fine.
only declare a 'Special class' with a constructor who can store up to x values of one special type.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vexorion
but adding them to a scripting language is not really as trivial as just 'enabling' them
I'm making our own java-based script-langauge and making n-D array's is not complicated when your langage is based on another one (with n-D arrays)
__________________
Current Projects:
  • Masters Of WarCraft: Some mixture of AoS and RPG
    Terrain: 100%, Coding: 75%, Heroes: 0%, Items: 0%, Creeps: 0%, Upgrades: 0%
  • hunting emos
____________________________________
scheiss kack dreck sausacksau bundeswehr
Tot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 06:15 PM   #40
Vexorian
Free Software Terrorist
 
Vexorian's Avatar


Technical Director
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14,898

Submissions (37)

Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)

Hero Contest #3 - 2nd Place

Default

Quote:
They needn't to import 1000000-D arrays, but at least something between 2-10 D-arrays would be fine.
Irrelevant, a n-d array is the same problem, whether with 10 or 1000000.

Quote:
I'm making our own java-based script-langauge and making n-D array's is not complicated when your langage is based on another one (with n-D arrays)
Dude, the language is irrelevant. They have to mess up with the grammar and add all this stuff to bytecode. then they have to make GUI compatible with it.

I never said it is not easy, but it is not just like 'enabling' it like you said. It will just not happen...
__________________
Zoom (requires log in)Wc3 map optimizer 5.0
Someone should fix .wav sound in this thing.
Zoom (requires log in)JassHelper 0.A.2.A
Turns your simple code into something that is complicated enough to work.
Faster != more useful
Vexorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 10:46 PM   #41
Eleandor
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 118

Eleandor is on a distinguished road (12)

Default

Camera:
- SetCameraTargetPositionX
- SetCameraTargetPositionY
- SetCameraTargetPositionZ
- SetCameraEyePositionX
- SetCameraEyePositionY
- SetCameraEyePositionZ

A better random number generator. Something like Mersenne Twister (impossible to make in jass). The average period of the default random number generator is something like 10...

Remove op-limit. Or allow a thread to ignore it.
Eleandor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 08:35 AM   #42
Anachron
User
 
Anachron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,079

Anachron will become famous soon enough (51)Anachron will become famous soon enough (51)

Default

What about

Collapse JASS:
HideMiniMap()
SetMiniMap(PATH)
DisableCameraReset()

?
__________________
CustomInventory [Discussion - Download] - Got Directors Cut!
CustomMissle [Discussion - [Download (not yet)] - In development!
Other systems [Spawn System] [Move System] [CustomBar] [SpellBar]
Anachron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 04:29 PM   #43
Tot
6
 
Tot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 841

Tot will become famous soon enough (53)Tot will become famous soon enough (53)

Default

new ideas: (got while trying to sleep):
- include jngp, warcraft3viewer, widgetizer,...

- set alpha value in object editor

- when choosing a icon show 3 radioboxes (normal, passive, autocast) for all icons (--> with some kind of additional layer)

- set and get all object editor values:
Collapse JASS:
function GetOEValue takes object o, string codevalue returns value
function SetOEValue takes object o, string codevalue, value v returns nothing

- when choosing a model show some checkboxes for enable/disable animation

- add to all abilities in object editor a checkbox titled "hide"

- optimize function: when activated, the map is saved, all unused variables, units, abilities, etc are removed, map can't be opened any more

- fix locust and spellbook abilities

- add a ability for making a unit selectable but uncontrollable

- allow it to redefine gui-commands with functions taking and returning the same values

- include a mouslistener (getmousex/y, is key pressed,...9

- functions to check weather one of the F-keys is pressed (F1, F2,...)

- remove skill limit for heroes

- either translate gui-commands complet or leave them english

- improve custom value of unit (allow it to store all kinds of values)

- remove max lenght for map-path

- allow it to enable/disable camera movement with the arrow-keys

- allow it to create error messages
__________________
Current Projects:
  • Masters Of WarCraft: Some mixture of AoS and RPG
    Terrain: 100%, Coding: 75%, Heroes: 0%, Items: 0%, Creeps: 0%, Upgrades: 0%
  • hunting emos
____________________________________
scheiss kack dreck sausacksau bundeswehr

Last edited by Tot : 08-22-2009 at 11:42 AM.
Tot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 05:39 PM   #44
TKF
User
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 384

TKF is on a distinguished road (10)

Default

I've seen many people trying to suggest missing features in the editor in bnet forum. But if blizzard listen AND thinks some of these ideas are worth implementing, I'm very surprised!
__________________
Retired
TKF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services