wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Resources > Tools
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2007, 04:20 PM   #31
Tide-Arc Ephemera
Overdoses result in death
 
Tide-Arc Ephemera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,365

Submissions (3)

Tide-Arc Ephemera is a jewel in the rough (206)Tide-Arc Ephemera is a jewel in the rough (206)Tide-Arc Ephemera is a jewel in the rough (206)

Default

This isn't criticism, but maybe it shouldn't be useful for people who aren't just coding freaks. Some people who are digital artists may not know jack shit about coding. Try to make something EXTREMELY simple or as simple as you can both physically and mentally bare.

Oh yeah, Botanic, are you using the XCode Developer's kit? I've been meaning to learn Java and how to use the Interface Builder together... but since I planned I really haven't done either... at all...
__________________
Before asking for help with triggers... read this and check your trigger!

If you're having troubles getting help on WC3C or anywhere at all, please have a look at...
The WRONG way to ask for help and The CORRECT way to ask for help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alevice
You may never stop our bioweapon! We mexicans shall rule the third world! Mwahahahahahahaha!
Please acknowledge that I use Mac and avoid suggesting vJass and other tools that don't work on it. Thank you.
Tide-Arc Ephemera is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 10-01-2007, 04:38 PM   #32
botanic
User
 
botanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 551

Submissions (2)

botanic will become famous soon enough (41)botanic will become famous soon enough (41)

Send a message via AIM to botanic
Default

XCode is nice I do prefer it for most dev on MAC however for JAVA im just using netbeans

PS: There are a few things going on here, when it is done it will be simple, (and have a GUI or at least my tool will) cross-platform, and who knows what else :P
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by cohadar
I really should not be the one telling you this
Quote:
Originally Posted by botanic
I think we established that
botanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 05:18 PM   #33
cohadar
master of fugue
 
cohadar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,453

Submissions (5)

cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by botanic
XCode is nice I do prefer it for most dev on MAC however for JAVA im just using netbeans

PS: There are a few things going on here, when it is done it will be simple, (and have a GUI or at least my tool will) cross-platform, and who knows what else :P

I am already scared...

EDIT:
@Tide-Arc Ephemera you havent been able to use this yet?????
BOTANIC you ass, send him your working Mac version.
__________________
Omg database crash deleted my signature, as a side effect this immensely improved wc3c.

Last edited by cohadar : 10-01-2007 at 05:19 PM.
cohadar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 07:15 PM   #34
botanic
User
 
botanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 551

Submissions (2)

botanic will become famous soon enough (41)botanic will become famous soon enough (41)

Send a message via AIM to botanic
Default

I didn't remake a working mac version I just gave you the code to fix it :P

Honestly it would be easier for you to update the dirpaths then for me since id have to go code hunting when you already know the code :/

PS: im at work so I cant do it right now ne ways :P
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by cohadar
I really should not be the one telling you this
Quote:
Originally Posted by botanic
I think we established that
botanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 07:28 PM   #35
cohadar
master of fugue
 
cohadar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,453

Submissions (5)

cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)

Default

I could do that now but there is no point making one more version just to fix Mac paths without someone to test it first.

I also plan to add that Mayor and Primary for the next release, and that takes time so we just leave this be for now.

Schoolyear just started..
__________________
Omg database crash deleted my signature, as a side effect this immensely improved wc3c.
cohadar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 10:41 AM   #36
botanic
User
 
botanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 551

Submissions (2)

botanic will become famous soon enough (41)botanic will become famous soon enough (41)

Send a message via AIM to botanic
Default

Well why dont you add the placing everything in the home folder workaround for the moment so that people can at least do that if they really want to...

Oh and if you want to make it easier to generate icons just take a BTN, DISBTN or w/e and overlay them in photoshop with a difference filter. That should eliminate all the other calculations and jsut make you be able to use overlays...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by cohadar
I really should not be the one telling you this
Quote:
Originally Posted by botanic
I think we established that

Last edited by botanic : 10-02-2007 at 10:51 AM.
botanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 04:01 PM   #37
Balnnazar
User
 
Balnnazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 255

Balnnazar is on a distinguished road (11)

Send a message via MSN to Balnnazar
Default

i have a problem.

i created some icons:
Example:


but i upload my icons in the hiveworkshop and have this colors:


only in the page have that colors. what happens?

Last edited by Balnnazar : 10-02-2007 at 04:03 PM.
Balnnazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 04:19 PM   #38
erwtenpeller
*****istrator
 
erwtenpeller's Avatar


Art Director
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,759

Submissions (35)

erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)erwtenpeller has a brilliant future (927)

Skinning Contest 7 ~ Were-AnimalsConcept art session 3 - Dungeon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tide-Arc Ephemera
This isn't criticism, but maybe it shouldn't be useful for people who aren't just coding freaks. Some people who are digital artists may not know jack shit about coding. Try to make something EXTREMELY simple or as simple as you can both physically and mentally bare.
Digital artists would just use the PSD border pack, this is for people who dont have photoshop, wich pretty much breaks down to just the coders no?
__________________
erwtenpeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 04:30 PM   #39
cohadar
master of fugue
 
cohadar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,453

Submissions (5)

cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Balnnazar
i have a problem.

i created some icons:
Example:


but i upload my icons in the hiveworkshop and have this colors:


only in the page have that colors. what happens?

Color palettes are not the same in all types of browsers.
This is unrelated to this program. read more

Tell me what did you upload to hive, jpg files or blp files?
EDIT:
Stupid question, you uploaded blp's of course.
This is not a problem with wc3Borderizer but with BLPaletter.
To solve it you should take generated jpg. files and with some conversion program manually convert them to blp's
Color shift occurs because BLPaletter does high level paletted compression.
This shift problem could probably be avoided if PitzerMike modified his algorithm to accumulate palette around internet-safe colors only.
I will tell him about this.
Untill then, simply convert generated jpg to blp manually.
EDIT:
On the other hand this might not be possible because Pitzer probably made his algorithm optimized so the blp's look properly in game, and if wc3 does not use safe colors that
the only solution is to use unpaletted blp's.
Note that color on your icons will look differently only in browser,
in game it will look exactly as you created it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by erwtenpeller
Digital artists would just use the PSD border pack, this is for people who dont have photoshop, wich pretty much breaks down to just the coders no?
Well artists have a lot of time to waste, coders don't.
__________________
Omg database crash deleted my signature, as a side effect this immensely improved wc3c.

Last edited by cohadar : 10-02-2007 at 04:43 PM.
cohadar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 04:39 PM   #40
Balnnazar
User
 
Balnnazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 255

Balnnazar is on a distinguished road (11)

Send a message via MSN to Balnnazar
Default

i uploaded blp files.
Balnnazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 04:53 PM   #41
cohadar
master of fugue
 
cohadar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,453

Submissions (5)

cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)

Default

In case you did not notice, I edited my previous post and your answers are there.
__________________
Omg database crash deleted my signature, as a side effect this immensely improved wc3c.
cohadar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 05:21 PM   #42
Toadcop
BuranX
 
Toadcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,886

Submissions (4)

Toadcop is just really nice (299)Toadcop is just really nice (299)

Approved Map: TcXSpell Making Session 10 Winner

Send a message via ICQ to Toadcop
Default

i like artists more :P coders mainly too rational... but well it's relative =)


//btw cogratulation ! your tools is on this site ^^
__________________
Toadcop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 10:37 PM   #43
PitzerMike
Alcopops
 
PitzerMike's Avatar


Tools & Tutorials Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,794

Submissions (12)

PitzerMike is a splendid one to behold (643)PitzerMike is a splendid one to behold (643)PitzerMike is a splendid one to behold (643)PitzerMike is a splendid one to behold (643)

Approved Map: Pitzer's Minesweeper

Default

Hive's upload script obviously swaps the R and B channels, which is a common mistake in image processing.
Now I don't know where you read all this stuff about internet safe colors, in this case it doesn't apply, since hive uses jpegs (and jpegs don't store color information in the traditional way, I don't want to go into detail here though). To make the long story short, Hive's upload script is bugged, because it swaps the red and blue channel. You'd better report this at the Hive.

PS: Even if the problem was related to internet safe colors, which it isnt, you can't just go and blame BLPaletter. Blps are not for the internet, blps are for the game Warcraft 3. At least I havn't seen a browser so far that can display blps. And if their script can't manage to properly convert a blp back to jpg that's their fault really.
Also next time please think before you post baseless assumptions. Afterall there still might be some people out there who trust in what you post and we don't want to mislead them, now do we?


EDIT: Oh please tell me when this finally works on all platforms, so I can approve it. *giggles*
__________________
Zoom (requires log in)

Last edited by PitzerMike : 10-02-2007 at 10:59 PM.
PitzerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 02:33 AM   #44
botanic
User
 
botanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 551

Submissions (2)

botanic will become famous soon enough (41)botanic will become famous soon enough (41)

Send a message via AIM to botanic
Default

It works on all platforms all you have todo is move everything to your home folder :P
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by cohadar
I really should not be the one telling you this
Quote:
Originally Posted by botanic
I think we established that
botanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 07:39 AM   #45
cohadar
master of fugue
 
cohadar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,453

Submissions (5)

cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)cohadar is just really nice (250)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitzerMike
Hive's upload script obviously swaps the R and B channels, which is a common mistake in image processing.
Now I don't know where you read all this stuff about internet safe colors, in this case it doesn't apply, since hive uses jpegs (and jpegs don't store color information in the traditional way, I don't want to go into detail here though). To make the long story short, Hive's upload script is bugged, because it swaps the red and blue channel. You'd better report this at the Hive.

PS: Even if the problem was related to internet safe colors, which it isnt, you can't just go and blame BLPaletter. Blps are not for the internet, blps are for the game Warcraft 3. At least I havn't seen a browser so far that can display blps. And if their script can't manage to properly convert a blp back to jpg that's their fault really.
Also next time please think before you post baseless assumptions. Afterall there still might be some people out there who trust in what you post and we don't want to mislead them, now do we?


EDIT: Oh please tell me when this finally works on all platforms, so I can approve it. *giggles*

My intention was not to blame anything on anyone,
I made the most logical assumption at the time,
blp's have palettes and colors got swapped, the only case I ever saw that before was the issue with internet-safe colors.

And now you tell me that Hive, a site specifically dedicated to publishing visual arts have a bug in their image loading script? I was quite surprised.

Oh and I don't need this approved, it is "de facto" approved by the community *giggles back*
__________________
Omg database crash deleted my signature, as a side effect this immensely improved wc3c.
cohadar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services