wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Warcraft III Modding > Artist's Corner > Skinning / Texturing
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-27-2005, 01:33 AM   #1
BuRnInSpartan
User
 
BuRnInSpartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,077

BuRnInSpartan is on a distinguished road (21)

Default

i can't open my .tga file with image extractor II

here is what i did

1)opened image extractor II
2)saved the peasent malitia blp as a tga
3)opened paint shop pro 9
4)skinned it
5)saved as a .tga
6)closed paint shop pro
7)tried opening the .tga file and got the message

The file C:\Program Files\Warcraft III\Units\Human\PeasantMilitia2.tga has an unsupported compression


what do i do?
__________________
Battle of the Earth (BotE) Progress Bars

Terrain: 0000000000
Units: 0000000000
Spells: 0000000000
Triggers: 0000000000
BuRnInSpartan is offline  
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 01-27-2005, 01:36 AM   #2
Son-Of-Impurity
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 733

Son-Of-Impurity is on a distinguished road (10)

Default

this is what happens when you have psp8. its something to do with the compression of the tga file, when you save it in psp.

i think it saves it as 24bit or something and skips the alpha.

my suggestion is that you get adobe photoshop CS or 7+
Son-Of-Impurity is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 01:48 AM   #3
BuRnInSpartan
User
 
BuRnInSpartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,077

BuRnInSpartan is on a distinguished road (21)

Default

i've used all my trials :( lol i'm stuck with this i set it to uncompressed and now it opens in Image Extractor but it's purple and everything... is this the way it'll look in the game?
__________________
Battle of the Earth (BotE) Progress Bars

Terrain: 0000000000
Units: 0000000000
Spells: 0000000000
Triggers: 0000000000
BuRnInSpartan is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 02:01 AM   #4
Son-Of-Impurity
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 733

Son-Of-Impurity is on a distinguished road (10)

Default

check ur pm
Son-Of-Impurity is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 02:19 AM   #5
BuRnInSpartan
User
 
BuRnInSpartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,077

BuRnInSpartan is on a distinguished road (21)

Default

you're my hero!
__________________
Battle of the Earth (BotE) Progress Bars

Terrain: 0000000000
Units: 0000000000
Spells: 0000000000
Triggers: 0000000000
BuRnInSpartan is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 02:29 AM   #6
Son-Of-Impurity
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 733

Son-Of-Impurity is on a distinguished road (10)

Default

btw; USE wc3viewer for photoshop cs its better.

this is the updated 2.3c version.
Son-Of-Impurity is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 02:33 PM   #7
Alhariel
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 52

Alhariel has little to show at this moment (4)

Default

Wierd... i have had the exactly same problem in GIMP... Dunno why it happens, but sometimes it just does!
Alhariel is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 02:44 AM   #8
BuRnInSpartan
User
 
BuRnInSpartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,077

BuRnInSpartan is on a distinguished road (21)

Default

it's the pixels but paintshop doesn't allow me to make it 32 :(
__________________
Battle of the Earth (BotE) Progress Bars

Terrain: 0000000000
Units: 0000000000
Spells: 0000000000
Triggers: 0000000000
BuRnInSpartan is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 02:46 AM   #9
Son-Of-Impurity
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 733

Son-Of-Impurity is on a distinguished road (10)

Default

ya thats why everyone is better off with photoshop,
it allows you too do more things and it has a great layout.,
Son-Of-Impurity is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 12:32 PM   #10
adza
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm having a problem also with conversion, I opened the Thrall skin in PSP 7, made my changes [which were pretty crap btw, as I'm neither a pr0 at skinning or PSP], saved the skin as a .tga and then closed PSP.

Next, I opened up WC3M Utilities, went under the tag Etc., opened BLP converter. I found my .tga and chose to save it as Thrall.blp. Each time I've tried, all i've got it 'Conversion is failed' which is annoying enough as it is, but being such crap english makes it even more aggravating.

Is there a better program to do conversions? m I doing something wrong along the line?
 
Old 01-30-2005, 02:16 PM   #11
Son-Of-Impurity
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 733

Son-Of-Impurity is on a distinguished road (10)

Default

no you'll find its paint shop pro. i had paintshop pro before and it was useless too me. i use too use photoshop 7 but ow i use PS CS 8.0 (which is 1 step up) i have no problems whatsoever with it.
Son-Of-Impurity is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:17 PM   #12
adza
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Erm, that doesn't really answer my question though, because getting photoshop is not an option.
 
Old 02-11-2005, 02:03 AM   #13
BuRnInSpartan
User
 
BuRnInSpartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,077

BuRnInSpartan is on a distinguished road (21)

Default

try using different converters... my only suggestion
__________________
Battle of the Earth (BotE) Progress Bars

Terrain: 0000000000
Units: 0000000000
Spells: 0000000000
Triggers: 0000000000
BuRnInSpartan is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services