wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Warcraft III Modding > Developer's Corner > General Development
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2009, 12:28 AM   #1
Ammorth
I blink, therefore I am.
 
Ammorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,812

Submissions (10)

Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)

Default [Testers Needed] Trackables

Looking for as many people as possible to run this testmap and provide the following information:

1) Normal FPS (when you first typed fps, what was it around)
2) Final FPS (after pressing esc, what was it around)
3) Number of Trackables (given by testmap)
4) What was your FPS when you moved your view to a corner of the map?
5) Processor make, speed and number of cores

PLEASE MAKE SURE WAR3ERR IS DISABLED. If you are not using JassNewGen, don't worry about it.

If you own multiple computers, can you please run it on all that you can. In case you didn't notice, I'm looking to see how many trackables can exist safely before the lag is noticeable.

My Data

1) 64.0
2) 30.0
3) 3690
4) 64.0
5) Pentium 4 - 3.06ghz - Single Core

Attached Files
File Type: w3m track test.w3m (17.3 KB, 28 views)
__________________
Ammorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 01-04-2009, 12:40 AM   #2
Pyrogasm
Lackadaisically Absent.
 
Pyrogasm's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,523

Submissions (9)

Pyrogasm is a splendid one to behold (638)Pyrogasm is a splendid one to behold (638)Pyrogasm is a splendid one to behold (638)Pyrogasm is a splendid one to behold (638)Pyrogasm is a splendid one to behold (638)Pyrogasm is a splendid one to behold (638)Pyrogasm is a splendid one to behold (638)

Hero Contest - Fourth place

Send a message via ICQ to Pyrogasm Send a message via AIM to Pyrogasm Send a message via MSN to Pyrogasm Send a message via Yahoo to Pyrogasm
Default

Woah. My data doesn't really seem to make sense, but:
Data:
1) 105.0
2) 30.0
3) 985
4) 100.0
5) PowerPC - 2.0 GHz - Single Core
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by Rising_Dusk
Your spells are mostly ignored because they are not very cool so we aren't very excited to review/approve them, but you are incredibly persistent and won't give us an excuse to graveyard it. That is generally what results in a resource being ignored for a long time.

The Spell Request Thread Done for, unless someone else wants to revive it...
It lasted a damn long time.

Please; Ask for Help Appropriately














Quote:
Originally posted by Kyrbi0
Huh. Almost makes me wish I had a girlfriend, to take advantage of today (wait, no, that's not what I meant... I mean, take advantage of the fact that it is international women's day... gah, never mind).
Quote:
Originally posted by Pyrogasm
Rome may not have been built in a day, but the Romans sure as hell didn't say "look at this great city we built guys!" when they had nothing more than a bit of stone and some cottages.
Pyrogasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 01:00 AM   #3
Ammorth
I blink, therefore I am.
 
Ammorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,812

Submissions (10)

Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrogasm
Woah. My data doesn't really seem to make sense

I would guess it's caused by a combination of no-vsync and either a slower video card or an on-board gpu.
__________________
Ammorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 02:02 AM   #4
Veev
User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 199

Veev will become famous soon enough (63)Veev will become famous soon enough (63)Veev will become famous soon enough (63)

Default

1) 105.2
2) 29.2
3) 2300
4) 100.3
5) AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+, 3.00 GHz, Dual Core

I ran it twice, and in the second test I had similar results but with 2230 trackables instead.

Last edited by Veev : 01-04-2009 at 02:04 AM.
Veev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 06:31 AM   #5
Spec
Shadow Daemon
 
Spec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 102

Submissions (2)

Spec has a spectacular aura about (118)Spec has a spectacular aura about (118)Spec has a spectacular aura about (118)Spec has a spectacular aura about (118)

Send a message via ICQ to Spec
Default

1) 64.0
2) Approximately [29.5 .. 30.3]
3) Tested several times, result values in range [6210 .. 6230]
4) 64.0
5) Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 GHz, 6144 KB cache
__________________
Button Manager v1.8.2 - The icon making tool.

BLP Laboratory v0.5.0 - Texture viewer & converter.
Spec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 06:58 AM   #6
Jazradel
Superuser
 
Jazradel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 651

Submissions (1)

Jazradel has a spectacular aura about (110)Jazradel has a spectacular aura about (110)Jazradel has a spectacular aura about (110)Jazradel has a spectacular aura about (110)

Send a message via AIM to Jazradel Send a message via MSN to Jazradel
Default

1) 64
2) 29.5
3) 4305
4) 64
5) AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Procesor 4200+.

I have 3 gb of ram and a radeon 4850 however, which is probably why I could support so many.
__________________


Table:
Jump Map
Point System
Warcraft III Model Archive

W3 Model Archive should be available from https://www.mediafire.com/folder/cd5..._III_Resources, PM me if it doesn't work.
Jazradel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 08:14 AM   #7
Bobo_The_Kodo
oO
 
Bobo_The_Kodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 580

Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)

Default

1)105-120
2)29
3)640
4)85-120
5)???(slow probably)

Last edited by Bobo_The_Kodo : 01-04-2009 at 08:15 AM.
Bobo_The_Kodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 11:29 AM   #8
Alexander244
Now Kharyb
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602

Submissions (1)

Alexander244 is a jewel in the rough (193)Alexander244 is a jewel in the rough (193)Alexander244 is a jewel in the rough (193)

Default

Results:
Laptop Desktop 1 Desktop 2 Desktop 2
Normal FPS 60.0 64.0 38.0 38.0
FPS after Esc 30.0 30.0 19.0 30.5
No. Trackables 2390 -> 3085 1945 3630 1405
FPS in Corner 60.0 64.0 38.0 38.0
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo T5600 - 1.83 Ghz Intel Pentium D 915 - 2.80 Ghz Intel Pentium 4 - 2.0 Ghz Intel Pentium 4 - 2.0 Ghz
Edit: When I did the test on the laptop it was sticking on 60, 40 and 30 fps for a while (jumping quite quickly between them). I've tested it a bit, and the highest trackables I could get with it staying on 30.0 fps after Esc was ~3085 trackables (Its hard to judge when it is going to start dropping). It hits 30 fps at ~2390 trackables.

Last edited by Alexander244 : 01-04-2009 at 12:29 PM.
Alexander244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 02:32 PM   #9
Troll-Brain
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,490

Submissions (1)

Troll-Brain has a spectacular aura about (134)

Default

Maybe it's irrelevant, but what about if you already use many effects, textags, stuff like that ?
I mean you can't really know how many trackables can exist safely before the lag is noticeable, it could be different for many cases.
__________________
Cool != Useful

Last edited by Troll-Brain : 01-04-2009 at 02:33 PM.
Troll-Brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 04:23 PM   #10
Ammorth
I blink, therefore I am.
 
Ammorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,812

Submissions (10)

Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Troll-Brain
Maybe it's irrelevant, but what about if you already use many effects, textags, stuff like that ?
I mean you can't really know how many trackables can exist safely before the lag is noticeable, it could be different for many cases.

I realize this. Hopefully with this information I will be able to see how my computer scales with others and then tune the final product to work with those computers based on my performance and the performance from this test.

Thanks to all who have tested thus far.
__________________
Ammorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 06:04 PM   #11
akolyt0r
In Flames
 
akolyt0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,154

Submissions (3)

akolyt0r has a spectacular aura about (120)

Default

1: 72
2: 30
3: 7140
4: 62
5: Laptop - Intel T7500 DualCore 2.2Ghz

lulz got most till now ...even though my laptop is already 18 months or something old ...and its a laptop :/

Last edited by akolyt0r : 01-04-2009 at 06:05 PM.
akolyt0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 12:53 AM   #12
Skater
User
 
Skater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 80

Skater is on a distinguished road (17)

Default

1: 31
2: 15.2
3: 1445
4: 30
5: Intel Pentium 3 - 866 MHz - Single Core

Maybe i test with my good computer later.
__________________
Skater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 01:16 AM   #13
Ammorth
I blink, therefore I am.
 
Ammorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,812

Submissions (10)

Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)

Default

So far I feel that up to a thousand trackables is the safest, seeing as how some people still use older computers (and yes, I will cater to them since I am usually one of them).
__________________
Ammorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 05:09 AM   #14
Zandose
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 525

Zandose is on a distinguished road (23)

Default

I'm wondering what your trying to do. I've tried trackables before and it just wasn't viable.

From what I've learned, covering the whole map with trackables just doesn't work. A 32 by 32 map takes 1024 trackables and if you want to detect which player clicked the trackable you'll need to use separate ones for each player (1024*12=12288).

Last edited by Zandose : 01-05-2009 at 05:12 AM.
Zandose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 05:15 AM   #15
Ammorth
I blink, therefore I am.
 
Ammorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,812

Submissions (10)

Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)Ammorth is a glorious beacon of light (461)

Default

Well I'm about half way through an inventory system (single-player) and I was planning to include some other click-able interfaces. To make them more easier to code, I was thinking of covering just a section of the map with a grid and then using the grid to run all the different interfaces. So, with about 1024 trackables, I could do just that, now I need to contemplate it a bit more.
__________________

Last edited by Ammorth : 01-05-2009 at 05:15 AM.
Ammorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services