wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Warcraft III Modding > Hosted Projects > AMAI
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-27-2010, 11:40 AM   #1
gtdsotk
User
 
gtdsotk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6

gtdsotk has little to show at this moment (0)

Default How does AMAI detects the map

I am using the AMAI2.54SE and was wondering how AMAI detects which map I am starting. For example if I select lost temple how does amai know to which map to install the amai ai?
I guess this is the AMAI_TFT.exe / AMAI_ROC.exe job.
gtdsotk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 08-31-2010, 09:05 PM   #2
Strategy Master
Great Sage
 
Strategy Master's Avatar


Project Leader: AMAI
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 711

Submissions (1)

Strategy Master has a spectacular aura about (77)Strategy Master has a spectacular aura about (77)Strategy Master has a spectacular aura about (77)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtdsotk
I am using the AMAI2.54SE and was wondering how AMAI detects which map I am starting. For example if I select lost temple how does amai know to which map to install the amai ai?
I guess this is the AMAI_TFT.exe / AMAI_ROC.exe job.

For the simple editions the exe's inject a custom blizzard.j script and custom common.ai and custom racial.ai scripts that contains the AMAI code. All maps use these scripts to know what to do (in combination with a maps own triggers and scripts). All melee maps call a trigger to run melee AI. These call off to the blizzard.j that then loads up the required racial.ai (human,elf,orc etc).

And the racial.ai then make calls to the common.ai and then you have AMAI goodness

So to answer your question AMAI does not know what map you have loaded, it has to work out knowledge of the map itself.
__________________
Strategy Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 09:22 PM   #3
gtdsotk
User
 
gtdsotk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6

gtdsotk has little to show at this moment (0)

Default

>So to answer your question AMAI does not know what map you have loaded, it has to work out knowledge of the map itself.

Ok does the above mean that AMAI_TFT.exe / AMAI_ROC.exe first finds the location of the Warcraft III folder then creates a scripts folder puts the common.ai, blizzard.j, the racial.ai and starts the tft / roc respectively. And after the game exits it removes the folder.

Another question: If The AMAI SE injects the scripts automatically then what is the point of the Player Edition which requires you to inject the scripts manually.
gtdsotk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 09:41 PM   #4
Strategy Master
Great Sage
 
Strategy Master's Avatar


Project Leader: AMAI
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 711

Submissions (1)

Strategy Master has a spectacular aura about (77)Strategy Master has a spectacular aura about (77)Strategy Master has a spectacular aura about (77)

Default

Yup thats a good way of thinking of it. 3 reasons why we have PE still.

1. More Choice and flexibility
2. PE is required for Battle.net custom game support
3. Its a legacy version and fail safe if SE does not work for some people.
__________________
Strategy Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 06:24 AM   #5
gtdsotk
User
 
gtdsotk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6

gtdsotk has little to show at this moment (0)

Default

Quote:
1. More Choice and flexibility
2. PE is required for Battle.net custom game support
3. Its a legacy version and fail safe if SE does not work for some people.

Ah good point.

>Yup thats a good way of thinking of it.
I think it's a little more elaborate than that : ).
gtdsotk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services