wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Warcraft III Modding > Artist's Corner > Modeling / Animation
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-21-2010, 12:17 PM   #1
bboy-tiger-
User
 
bboy-tiger-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 95

bboy-tiger- has little to show at this moment (6)

Send a message via MSN to bboy-tiger-
Default SHADING - 3ds max export

I am using 3dsmax 2010 and when I export model I get that strange shading on the model, inside Wc3 game. Can someone say what's that all about that ?


This is just an example. I tried auto smooth, manually smoothing, placing all in one group...
And for now setting smoothing group in 1 gives best results, but still, its not like other wc3 models... so what could be the problem ?
bboy-tiger- is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 02-21-2010, 08:56 PM   #2
Nuclear Arbitor
Reputation Leech
 
Nuclear Arbitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,235

Submissions (1)

Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)

Default

wait. are you talking about how you can see some of the polygons in the yellow parts? i really don't know of a way to fix that except to fiddle with it until it looks good. honestly it probably won't matter though unless the thing is huge.
Nuclear Arbitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 10:34 PM   #3
bboy-tiger-
User
 
bboy-tiger-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 95

bboy-tiger- has little to show at this moment (6)

Send a message via MSN to bboy-tiger-
Default

No, look at the legs, and other parts, shoulder, you can see black color what is called shading, it not normal.
See this picture, see how's everything normal there ? Its exported by 3dsmax5, what tool are you using for exporting ?


BTW I will give you +rep just for looking at this thread, Few people are helpful...
bboy-tiger- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:03 AM   #4
Nuclear Arbitor
Reputation Leech
 
Nuclear Arbitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,235

Submissions (1)

Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)

Default

so far I haven't exported anything from 3ds max into wc3 but when I do I plan on using NeoDex (Check the stickies in the modeling forum for a link if you want it) in max 2010. if that doesn't work for what ever reason I'll figure something out then.

I'm still confused. I guess what I want to know is, do you want shading groups (ie. groups of polygons to look like they're round without hard edges) or do you want to remove shading groups (ie. each polygon is visually distinct from it's neighbors)?
Nuclear Arbitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 01:15 PM   #5
bboy-tiger-
User
 
bboy-tiger-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 95

bboy-tiger- has little to show at this moment (6)

Send a message via MSN to bboy-tiger-
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuclear Arbitor
so far I haven't exported anything from 3ds max into wc3 but when I do I plan on using NeoDex (Check the stickies in the modeling forum for a link if you want it) in max 2010. if that doesn't work for what ever reason I'll figure something out then.

I'm still confused. I guess what I want to know is, do you want shading groups (ie. groups of polygons to look like they're round without hard edges) or do you want to remove shading groups (ie. each polygon is visually distinct from it's neighbors)?

Try exporting model from max using neodex and see how it will look in wc3. Textured model.
No mater how you set your smoothing groups, shading in game will be bugged.

Cant you see the difference in those 2 pictures ? Ok yes there are different smoothing groups in each picture but ignore that. Look on the 1st picture how shading looks like. Its not normal. Look how right shoulder is gray. I think its problem in neodex. I PMed blinky but... no respond yet.


Try to export it by yourself, you'll see the error. I am tryign to figure out what is the problem.
bboy-tiger- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services