wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Starcraft 2 Modding
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2010, 06:56 AM   #46
ploks
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 99

ploks has little to show at this moment (6)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tot
I'm coding in C++/Java/C# since I'm 10 and with every year my hate on "{","}" and especially on ";" grows more and more

You can get a software to remap your keyboard :)
ploks is offline  
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 04-27-2010, 09:14 AM   #47
Anitarf
Procrastination Incarnate


Development Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 8,190

Submissions (19)

Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)

2008 Spell olympics - Fire - SilverApproved Map: Old School Alliance TacticsHero Contest #2 - 3rd PlaceSpell making session 2 winner

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tot
In my oppinion it's easy to understand
Collapse JASS:
function IloveJASS takes nothing returns nothing
if true then
endif
loop
if true then
if true then
loop
endloop
endif
endif
endloop
endfunction

than

Collapse Zinc:
void IhateGalaxy(){
if(true){
}
while{
if(true){
if(true){
while{
}
}
}
}
}
Indentation is your friend.


Anyway, I'm thinking that for my first map I won't bother with triggered spells at all, the data editor seems powerful enough that you don't even need triggers unless your spells are deliberately complicated, which isn't really my thing anyway.

I was wondering, does the data editor support formulas for numerical values (damage, heal, duration,...) of effects/behaviours, so those values needn't be fixed but can be based on the hp/mana(percentage) or hero attribute of the caster/target? If not, that would be one major class of spells that would still need trigger support.
__________________
Anitarf is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 12:39 PM   #48
Alevice
It feels good
 
Alevice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,305

Alevice is a jewel in the rough (190)Alevice is a jewel in the rough (190)Alevice is a jewel in the rough (190)

Default

Unfortunately I havent found a way with aritmethic (nor autofill either). Certain tokens lead me to believe there might be a hidden option for that, but I wouldnt hold my breath on it.
__________________
_-|-_

Alevice.jones is SC2 Beta, losers.

Check out my never updated deviantart gallery!!

Kalimdor Raiders (Race Contest #1) Pastebin Page
Cavern Crawlers (Race Contest #2) Pastebin Page
Airship Race Motherfuckers!
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://ajaxian.com/archives/would-you-like-a-_-with-that-new-library-gives-js-what-it-should-have#comment-276203
- Dont solve problems that dont exist.
- Improve the wheel, dont reinvent it.
- Port the wheel if it doesnt exist in your environment.
- Integrate the wheel into your project.
- Make sure you can replace your wooden wheel for a rubber one if someone else invents it.
Alevice is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 02:02 PM   #49
Tot
6
 
Tot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 841

Tot will become famous soon enough (53)Tot will become famous soon enough (53)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alevice
Unfortunately I havent found a way with aritmethic (nor autofill either). Certain tokens lead me to believe there might be a hidden option for that, but I wouldnt hold my breath on it.

formulas in oe?
*pray for blizzard having enough brain to have added this feature (atleast in final version)*
__________________
Current Projects:
  • Masters Of WarCraft: Some mixture of AoS and RPG
    Terrain: 100%, Coding: 75%, Heroes: 0%, Items: 0%, Creeps: 0%, Upgrades: 0%
  • hunting emos
____________________________________
scheiss kack dreck sausacksau bundeswehr
Tot is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 03:30 PM   #50
Archmage Owenalacaster
Laughs Derisively
 
Archmage Owenalacaster's Avatar


Project Member: PoC
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 649

Submissions (1)

Archmage Owenalacaster is a jewel in the rough (180)Archmage Owenalacaster is a jewel in the rough (180)Archmage Owenalacaster is a jewel in the rough (180)

Race-Building Contest #1 Winner

Default

Last night, I was raging about arbitrary limits on terrain sets: 4 cliff types, 8 terrain textures. The editor didn't allow any more than that. I even manually edited the xml without success. This will be a bane to terrainers.
__________________
I enjoy small text.
Resources: Custom Race System
JademusSreg.950, North American region on StarCraft 2

Last edited by Archmage Owenalacaster : 04-27-2010 at 03:32 PM.
Archmage Owenalacaster is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 09:10 PM   #51
Belphegor666
User
 
Belphegor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 787

Submissions (1)

Belphegor666 is on a distinguished road (16)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archmage Owenalacaster
Last night, I was raging about arbitrary limits on terrain sets: 4 cliff types, 8 terrain textures. The editor didn't allow any more than that. I even manually edited the xml without success. This will be a bane to terrainers.
The fuck..?

I thought they said they removed those limitations. Anyways I'm lucky I didn't get too (much) excited, over it. Vex words ring true. First the pointers now this... I think leaving some of their surface API would be enough for programmers writing code.

On the other hand I've saw some amazing work already done with the current editor so I dunno maybe they'll add some extra functionality (instead of removing previous...).
Belphegor666 is offline  
Old 04-28-2010, 12:44 AM   #52
Archmage Owenalacaster
Laughs Derisively
 
Archmage Owenalacaster's Avatar


Project Member: PoC
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 649

Submissions (1)

Archmage Owenalacaster is a jewel in the rough (180)Archmage Owenalacaster is a jewel in the rough (180)Archmage Owenalacaster is a jewel in the rough (180)

Race-Building Contest #1 Winner

Default

It seems only 3 of the 4 cliff types are working for me, anyway; the fourth refuses to paint. Strange bug.

Someone ought to prepare a list of frustrating arbitrary limits. Here's what I've noticed so far.
  • Cliff levels limited to 4, only 3 of which are pathable.
  • Cliff types limited to 4.
  • Terrain textures limited to 8.
  • Galaxy code and data is restricted to 2 MB, which includes globals, locals, and compiled bytecode.
__________________
I enjoy small text.
Resources: Custom Race System
JademusSreg.950, North American region on StarCraft 2
Archmage Owenalacaster is offline  
Old 04-28-2010, 02:47 AM   #53
Alevice
It feels good
 
Alevice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,305

Alevice is a jewel in the rough (190)Alevice is a jewel in the rough (190)Alevice is a jewel in the rough (190)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archmage Owenalacaster
[*] Galaxy code and data is restricted to 2 MB, which includes globals, locals, and compiled bytecode.[/list]
?!?!?!?!?!?!
__________________
_-|-_

Alevice.jones is SC2 Beta, losers.

Check out my never updated deviantart gallery!!

Kalimdor Raiders (Race Contest #1) Pastebin Page
Cavern Crawlers (Race Contest #2) Pastebin Page
Airship Race Motherfuckers!
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://ajaxian.com/archives/would-you-like-a-_-with-that-new-library-gives-js-what-it-should-have#comment-276203
- Dont solve problems that dont exist.
- Improve the wheel, dont reinvent it.
- Port the wheel if it doesnt exist in your environment.
- Integrate the wheel into your project.
- Make sure you can replace your wooden wheel for a rubber one if someone else invents it.
Alevice is offline  
Old 04-28-2010, 04:42 PM   #54
Belphegor666
User
 
Belphegor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 787

Submissions (1)

Belphegor666 is on a distinguished road (16)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alevice
?!?!?!?!?!?!
Yeah, a known error has something to do with 21 bit pointers/handles. Apparently blizzard thinks we won't need more... har har.
Belphegor666 is offline  
Old 07-18-2010, 10:45 PM   #55
Mike889
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16

Mike889 has little to show at this moment (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alevice
?!?!?!?!?!?!

Will we need to wait until 1.24d to have a 8Mb limit?


Now that the world is getting into 30Mb+ connections we have a 2Mb limit, lol!
Mike889 is offline  
Old 07-18-2010, 11:07 PM   #56
Nuclear Arbitor
Reputation Leech
 
Nuclear Arbitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,235

Submissions (1)

Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)

Default

your confusing MB and Mb; it makes a difference. i have a 1.2MB/10Mb connection

Last edited by Nuclear Arbitor : 07-18-2010 at 11:08 PM.
Nuclear Arbitor is offline  
Old 07-19-2010, 08:03 AM   #57
akolyt0r
In Flames
 
akolyt0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,154

Submissions (3)

akolyt0r has a spectacular aura about (120)

Default

btw is the limit 8MiB (or SC2: 2MiB) or 8MB (2MB) ??
__________________

Last edited by akolyt0r : 07-20-2010 at 02:59 PM. Reason: i was wrong with connection speeds, they are normally denoted with SI decimal prefixes AND with the correct meaning.
akolyt0r is offline  
Old 07-20-2010, 10:48 AM   #58
Nuclear Arbitor
Reputation Leech
 
Nuclear Arbitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,235

Submissions (1)

Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)Nuclear Arbitor has a spectacular aura about (83)

Default

MB=MegaByte; Mb=Megabit

1MB=8Mb

Last edited by Nuclear Arbitor : 07-20-2010 at 10:49 AM.
Nuclear Arbitor is offline  
Old 07-20-2010, 02:58 PM   #59
akolyt0r
In Flames
 
akolyt0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,154

Submissions (3)

akolyt0r has a spectacular aura about (120)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuclear Arbitor
MB=MegaByte; Mb=Megabit
1MB=8Mb

hmm my question was if the limit is
67108864 bit == 8 MiB (MebiByte, 2^20 byte)
or
64000000 bit == 8 MB (MegaByte, 10^6 byte)
__________________

Last edited by akolyt0r : 07-20-2010 at 03:04 PM.
akolyt0r is offline  
Old 07-20-2010, 06:24 PM   #60
Deaod
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 542

Submissions (11)

Deaod is a jewel in the rough (192)Deaod is a jewel in the rough (192)Deaod is a jewel in the rough (192)

Default

wait, wait, wait...8MiB != 2^20 byte.

1MiB==2^20 byte
8MiB==2^23 byte

I dont think anyone has reached the limit yet, but if i had to guess, id say that its 8MiB.
__________________

Last edited by Deaod : 07-20-2010 at 06:27 PM.
Deaod is offline  
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services