wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Warcraft III Modding > Developer's Corner > Cinematics
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2009, 04:36 PM   #1
Alexis_Septimus
User
 
Alexis_Septimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 96

Alexis_Septimus has little to show at this moment (5)

Default Pause music when user click alt+f4

I was trying to figure out if it was possible to pause & resume music whenever a user click alt+f4

Let's said a cinematic have been watch for about 2 minutes 36 seconds while the music last about 5 minutes, the user suddenly click alt+f4 to freeze the cinematic. Of course, the cinematic might have been freeze but not the music.

As far I known, the music still goes on during the moment. So if we are creating a precise timing cinematic, the music might probably end before the scenario does.

So, if a user press alt+f4 and let the cinematic be pause about 20 seconds. The music would be ahead of the action by 20 seconds as well.

The main question is, how to keep the music at the same lenght whenever a user click alt+f4? I was thinking if it was possible to do that.
Alexis_Septimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 02-26-2009, 04:53 PM   #2
Anitarf
Procrastination Incarnate


Development Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 8,190

Submissions (19)

Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)Anitarf has a brilliant future (903)

2008 Spell olympics - Fire - SilverApproved Map: Old School Alliance TacticsHero Contest #2 - 3rd PlaceSpell making session 2 winner

Default

No, I don't think it's possible.
__________________
Anitarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 05:05 PM   #3
Alexis_Septimus
User
 
Alexis_Septimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 96

Alexis_Septimus has little to show at this moment (5)

Default

Ouch, it would be really cool if this feature was possible.
Alexis_Septimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 08:44 PM   #4
Bobo_The_Kodo
oO
 
Bobo_The_Kodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 580

Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)

Default

Can't you use waits and a timer to see if game is paused?
Bobo_The_Kodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 10:06 PM   #5
Kwah
Christmassy.
 
Kwah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 644

Submissions (4)

Kwah will become famous soon enough (43)Kwah will become famous soon enough (43)

Default

But they don't run, no?
Kwah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 10:25 PM   #6
WILL THE ALMIGHTY
. . .
 
WILL THE ALMIGHTY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,529

Submissions (21)

WILL THE ALMIGHTY is just really nice (284)WILL THE ALMIGHTY is just really nice (284)

Default

You know Alt-F4 closes the program, right?
__________________
Quote:
[21-10-00] WILLTHEALMIGHTY: Ok I have this weird sound upstairs... BRB gotta go check it out.
[21-10-09] Ash: WILLTHEALMIGHTY, WAIT
[21-10-16] Ash: WILLTHEALMIGHTY, IT IS NOT SAFE OUT THERE, TAKE THIS!
[21-10-16] Ash gives WILL a kitten.
WILL THE ALMIGHTY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 10:27 PM   #7
akolyt0r
In Flames
 
akolyt0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,154

Submissions (3)

akolyt0r has a spectacular aura about (120)

Default

no it only brings the "close game"-dialog up...
__________________
akolyt0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 01:38 AM   #8
Bobo_The_Kodo
oO
 
Bobo_The_Kodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 580

Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)

Default

Quote:
But they don't run, no?
Waits do, timers dont
= check
Bobo_The_Kodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 02:17 AM   #9
Alexis_Septimus
User
 
Alexis_Septimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 96

Alexis_Septimus has little to show at this moment (5)

Default

Quote:
Can't you use waits and a timer to see if game is paused?

Wait ain't accurate and would it really resume the music? Let's said the cinematic was pause after 2 minutes 40 second and the music have goes on about 2 minutes 40 second as well, would it resume from 2 minutes 40 second of the music play or would the music back to where it started?
Alexis_Septimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 03:16 AM   #10
Blackroot
User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 260

Blackroot will become famous soon enough (40)Blackroot will become famous soon enough (40)

Spell Making Session 14 Winner

Default

Why are you trying to kater to players who want to quit your cinematic? x-x.

There is no good way to do this; unless you want to inject new commands into WC3 <waits throw off accuracy forever, timers will not allow you to control music well>
Blackroot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 03:29 AM   #11
Alexis_Septimus
User
 
Alexis_Septimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 96

Alexis_Septimus has little to show at this moment (5)

Default

Quote:
Why are you trying to kater to players who want to quit your cinematic? x-x.

Incase player wanna afk for a moment such as going to get a drink from refrigerator or to toilet, they not only able to pause the cinematic but the music as well so the scenario they watch would match with the music even it have been pause for a moment.
Alexis_Septimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 03:42 AM   #12
Bobo_The_Kodo
oO
 
Bobo_The_Kodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 580

Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)

Default

So make it pause it when they press Escape?
Bobo_The_Kodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 04:06 AM   #13
Alexis_Septimus
User
 
Alexis_Septimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 96

Alexis_Septimus has little to show at this moment (5)

Default

but it was impossible to resume the music afteward.

Let's said the music have run about 1 minutes 20 second and been pause at the moment. Would the music resume from where it have been play or started back at 0 seconds?

Also, esc was use to close cinematic.
Alexis_Septimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 08:26 PM   #14
Restor
User
 
Restor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 23

Restor has little to show at this moment (4)

Default

I am thinking about it AND I maybe find solution. (it is very long job to do this)


Like at start of every trigger (if using GUI exiting timer system) make action

Play music from offset (and here, you must manually set the proper seconds, you must have the all Timers before listed, and it will be easier)


But I dont know how it will sounds like.





Or, if the event Time elapses is X seconds is counting also with seconds in that ALT+F4 table, it can be like

For every new triger, turn also one triger like this one
E:Time elapsed is greater than XY (XY is the seconds, it really should take without that alt+f4 thing, like it should take 30 sec to this trigger normally, but it was paused, so another 5 sec, XY is of course real variable, which you will have to set depenging of cinematic time)

Well, that event doesnt exist, but you can solve it out, that not the problem

A:play music from offset (and like before)
turn this trigger off

This second option is more complicated and maybe will not work (if the time elapsed is paused when the game is paused by alt+f4) but if it works, it will not make the music play from offset every one trigger, but only if the time elapsed is not equal to time it SHOULD be elapsed.



I dont know. I dont find any logical error yet in this
__________________
Signature here

Last edited by Restor : 02-28-2009 at 08:30 PM.
Restor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 12:13 AM   #15
Bobo_The_Kodo
oO
 
Bobo_The_Kodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 580

Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)Bobo_The_Kodo has a spectacular aura about (109)

Default

Can't you use PauseMusic/ResumeMusic??
Bobo_The_Kodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services