wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Tutorials > MDL Editing
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2004, 09:41 AM   #1
Alfred
User
 
Alfred's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 840

Submissions (6)

Alfred is on a distinguished road (17)

Send a message via MSN to Alfred
Default Removing of Team Colors and Glows

How it works
Removing of them is pretty easy, it doesn't requires much work. It can be done solely in Notepad/Wordpad.

Let's get started.

Tools needed:
Notepad/Wordpad
YobGuls' Fileconverter Get it here
Any programs that can extract models

How it can be done
First, get the model you would like to remove its Team Color or Glow. I will explain on how to remove Team Color first. Open YobGuls' Fileconverter, then click on Load file, load up the .MDX of the model you extracted.
Then, click on convert to .MDL.
Open the .MDL file with Notepad/Wordpad.
Ctrl+F Textures.
Code:
Textures 3 {
	Bitmap {
		Image "Textures\Peasant.blp",
	}
	Bitmap {
		Image "",
		ReplaceableId 1,
	}
	Bitmap {
		Image "Textures\gutz.blp",
	}
}
You will see this part. This is taken from the peasant model. See the
Code:
	Bitmap {
		Image "",
		ReplaceableId 1,
	}
?
ReplaceableID 1, means Team Color, 2 means Team Glow.
Count the number of textures, until you reach this one, starting from 0. In this model, it's 1. (So if it's the 10th texture in the Textures section, it would be 9)
Then Ctrl+F TextureID x
Where x = the number you got just now.
Code:
Materials 3 {
	Material {
		Layer {
			FilterMode Transparent,
			static TextureID 0,
		}
	}
	Material {
		Layer {
			FilterMode Transparent,
			Unshaded,
			TwoSided,
			static TextureID 1,
		}
		Layer {
			FilterMode Blend,
			static TextureID 0,
		}
	}
	Material {
		Layer {
			FilterMode Transparent,
			static TextureID 2,
			Alpha 6 {
				Linear,
				46533: 0.748443,
				52900: 1,
				98133: 1,
				99800: 1,
				155733: 1,
				159800: 0.75,
			}
		}
	}
}
You will see this portion,
Code:
	Material {
		Layer {
			FilterMode Transparent,
			Unshaded,
			TwoSided,
			static TextureID 1,
		}
		Layer {
			FilterMode Blend,
			static TextureID 0,
		}
	}
Like I said, for this model, the number is 1.
Copy the whole line, including the spaces in front, then make a new line below it, then delete everything except for the 'static ' and the spaces in front, then type 'Alpha 0'.
You will then see this:

Code:
	Material {
		Layer {
			FilterMode Transparent,
			Unshaded,
			TwoSided,
			static TextureID 1,
			static Alpha 0,
		}
		Layer {
			FilterMode Blend,
			static TextureID 0,
		}
	}
When that's done, save your .MDL file.
Then open your YobGuls' Fileconverter(You need to close the previous one and open again for some reasons.)
Then again, click on Load File, make sure the extension for the file is .MDL, then load it up.
Convert it back to .MDX file, then all is done, Team Color removed!!! YAY!!!


For Team Glows, do the same. Except that it is ReplaceableID 2, not ReplaceableID 1.

If you have any further questions regarding this, post it here and I will answer them.
__________________

Last edited by Alfred : 05-08-2004 at 01:47 PM.
Alfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 05-09-2004, 04:42 AM   #2
MantisScreamer
User
 
MantisScreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 797

MantisScreamer is on a distinguished road (16)

Default

Can you give an example of how that would work with a hero such as the demon hunter or something, because they have more materials and texutures and such.
MantisScreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2004, 03:47 PM   #3
kam_Islash
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 57

kam_Islash has little to show at this moment (0)

Default

What language is this?
I know C++ by the way.

also is there a Mac equivilent to that program?

///
kam_Islash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 06:08 AM   #4
Alfred
User
 
Alfred's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 840

Submissions (6)

Alfred is on a distinguished road (17)

Send a message via MSN to Alfred
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kam_Islash
What language is this?
I know C++ by the way.

also is there a Mac equivilent to that program?

///

This is mdl. It requires you notepad/wordpad. No c++ is used here.
__________________
Alfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 06:15 PM   #5
kam_Islash
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 57

kam_Islash has little to show at this moment (0)

Default

Ok but any programming language is a snap to learn once you know just one.

Is there a nice guide taht tells you the function names and what they do somewhere?

///
kam_Islash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2004, 04:08 AM   #6
Alfred
User
 
Alfred's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 840

Submissions (6)

Alfred is on a distinguished road (17)

Send a message via MSN to Alfred
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kam_Islash
Ok but any programming language is a snap to learn once you know just one.

Is there a nice guide taht tells you the function names and what they do somewhere?

///


I'm not quite sure. I figure out the whole thing of mdl just by messing around with them with experiments and such and experience(;)). But you can kinda easily figure a few out if you would to open an .mdl of a model.
__________________
Alfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2004, 04:31 PM   #7
kam_Islash
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 57

kam_Islash has little to show at this moment (0)

Default

Im most curious actually about making White as a team color.

///
kam_Islash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 03:50 PM   #8
Oinkerwinkle
User


Respected User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 937

Submissions (1)

Oinkerwinkle will become famous soon enough (30)Oinkerwinkle will become famous soon enough (30)

Default

If you want to make all units of a side have white as a team color, import a while BLP to ReplaceableTextures\TeamColor\TeamColor00.blp .

Quote:
Ok but any programming language is a snap to learn once you know just one.

Is there a nice guide taht tells you the function names and what they do somewhere?

///
There are no functions or anything. It just a list of parts that make up a model.
Oinkerwinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 04:41 PM   #9
Alfryd
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 188

Alfryd has little to show at this moment (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oinkerwinkle
If you want to make all units of a side have white as a team color, import a while BLP to ReplaceableTextures\TeamColor\TeamColor00.blp .

There are no functions or anything. It just a list of parts that make up a model.

Most interesting. It's a pity I can't get Yobguls' file converter to work.
[message edited.]

Last edited by Alfryd : 07-28-2004 at 11:18 PM.
Alfryd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 01:30 PM   #10
fugly
User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 219

fugly has little to show at this moment (0)

Default

ok i followed you until the last step, wasn't all that you did was add the line
"stats Alpha 0,"
fugly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2005, 03:28 AM   #11
StealthFox
User
 
StealthFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 132

Submissions (1)

StealthFox is on a distinguished road (21)

Default

When I tried it, it didn't work.
__________________

Last edited by StealthFox : 01-05-2005 at 03:33 AM.
StealthFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 03:13 PM   #12
Oinkerwinkle
User


Respected User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 937

Submissions (1)

Oinkerwinkle will become famous soon enough (30)Oinkerwinkle will become famous soon enough (30)

Default

If you post the broken MDL, someone might be able to help you. Just saying that it didn't work isn't enough to tell what's wrong.
Oinkerwinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 04:19 PM   #13
StealthFox
User
 
StealthFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 132

Submissions (1)

StealthFox is on a distinguished road (21)

Default

I found out that using this method doesn't always work. I found that Whitehorn's tutorial of replacing a geoset with an empty one worked. Using Oinkerwinkle's vertex modifier you can easily delete the hero glow geoset which can be found in the treeview in Warcraft 3 viewer, (meshes).
__________________
StealthFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services