wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Warcraft III Modding > Developer's Corner > Triggers & Scripts
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2009, 04:12 PM   #16
Eleandor
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 118

Eleandor is on a distinguished road (12)

Default

Can't believe the biggest vjass feature wasn't mentioned yet...
- You can't create your own variable types in GUI (structs?) nor can you encapsulate them with methods or operators. It's the number 1 reason people use vjass, right?

- No debug mode (no way to make an action debug-only)
- You can't have 2D arrays
- You can't use external tools (objectmerger, SLK tables, ...)
- You can't declare constants
- You can't create your own functions
- Certain functions / types aren't available at all: GetLocalPlayer(), CreateDestructableZ, LightningZ, trackables and trackable related functions, etc.
- You are limited to using locations (can't use X/Y/Z)
- Some leaks are unavoidable in GUI
- Many must-have libraries (TimerUtils, Table, GroupUtils, ...) are not available

Last edited by Eleandor : 08-17-2009 at 04:18 PM.
Eleandor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 08-17-2009, 05:46 PM   #17
Flame_Phoenix
retired coder | real ilfe
 
Flame_Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,208

Submissions (10)

Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)

Send a message via MSN to Flame_Phoenix
Default

Quote:
- You can't make boolean expressions
Wrong. The game makes them for you.

You can't:
- have OOP design (this says it all pretty much)
- hook natives
- inject stuff in your code
- make a SETUP section that is useful, the code can't be divided the way you want
- have efficient code (this says it all pretty much as well)
- create dynamic triggers

EDIT: Damn you Eleanor for posting before me ! xD
__________________
Check out my tutorials at:
1-Creating a Hero Tavern
2-Complete Icon Tutorial - ALL about Icons
3-Making a spell in vJass - Practice Session 1
Check out all my current spells at here
Finally, check my project:
Castle vs Castle Flame Edition

Last edited by Flame_Phoenix : 08-17-2009 at 05:47 PM.
Flame_Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 06:03 PM   #18
Cheezeman
User
 
Cheezeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 179

Cheezeman has little to show at this moment (1)

Default

Wow, great list guys! :D
Will update shortly
__________________
I have no signature yet
Cheezeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 07:57 AM   #19
Element of Water
User
 
Element of Water's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 147

Submissions (2)

Element of Water is on a distinguished road (18)

Default

You got OOP design, hook natives, SETUP twice each...
Element of Water is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 11:43 AM   #20
Flame_Phoenix
retired coder | real ilfe
 
Flame_Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,208

Submissions (10)

Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)

Send a message via MSN to Flame_Phoenix
Default

Quote:
You got OOP design, hook natives, SETUP twice each...
We already told those, you are late xD
__________________
Check out my tutorials at:
1-Creating a Hero Tavern
2-Complete Icon Tutorial - ALL about Icons
3-Making a spell in vJass - Practice Session 1
Check out all my current spells at here
Finally, check my project:
Castle vs Castle Flame Edition
Flame_Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 05:38 PM   #21
TheWye
User
 
TheWye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 140

TheWye is on a distinguished road (11)

Default

you can't pick on someone who uses GUI if you are a GUI user yourself XD
__________________
I Wanna :

SetTextTagTextSetTextTagTextSetTextTagText
TheWye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 12:12 AM   #22
cosmicat
Probably AFK
 
cosmicat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 635

cosmicat will become famous soon enough (71)cosmicat will become famous soon enough (71)cosmicat will become famous soon enough (71)

Default

I'm guessing his reason for the list is that he's going to be dividing up responsibilities for some kind of mod he and some friends are working on. Some members know how to use JASS and others don't; hence, all projects that are JASS-exclusive must be assigned to the experts, while the GUI-able triggers can be delegated to the less experienced users (who probably also have more time on their hands).
__________________
+++++++++++[>++++++>++++++++++>++++++++++<<<-]>+.>+.++++.+>-.----.------.--.<.
cosmicat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 01:02 AM   #23
GetTriggerUnit-
User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 27

GetTriggerUnit- has little to show at this moment (1)

Default

You can't can't!

Just use custom scripts which sucks but who cares? NO ME

Ever heard of jGUI?

Gui trigger coded only of custom scripts... Pwns


Also

You can't:
Do inneficiant things in Jass.

Last edited by GetTriggerUnit- : 09-03-2009 at 01:06 AM.
GetTriggerUnit- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 01:18 AM   #24
cosmicat
Probably AFK
 
cosmicat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 635

cosmicat will become famous soon enough (71)cosmicat will become famous soon enough (71)cosmicat will become famous soon enough (71)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GetTriggerUnit-
You can't:
Do inneficiant things in Jass.
Yes, yes you can.

In fact, I'd say it's impossible to write a language in which nothing inefficient can be done. (How I wish it were possible!)

Collapse JASS:
function DoSomethingInefficient takes nothing returns nothing // does nothing
  integer i = 0
  loop
    exitwhen i == 1000
    call DoNothingBJ()
    call DoNothingBJ()
    call DoNothingBJ()
    call DoNothingBJ()
    set i = i + 1
  endloop
endfunction

And if you want to actually get something accomplished inefficiently, just replace any and all arrays you're using with gamecache and I2S. Use Swapped functions instead of their native counterparts.

Hey, and now we've got Hashtable functions, or so I hear -- even more new ways to do things inefficiently!

Also:
Quote:
- You an't declare local variables
That's not quite right. (Well, maybe it is if this is one of the things Blizzard fixed.) AFAIK, though, you may declare ONE local variable in GUI. It just has to have a udg_ name and overwrite an existing global (more than one overwrite in the same trigger seems to cause crashes).
__________________
+++++++++++[>++++++>++++++++++>++++++++++<<<-]>+.>+.++++.+>-.----.------.--.<.

Last edited by cosmicat : 09-03-2009 at 01:22 AM.
cosmicat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 01:49 AM   #25
GetTriggerUnit-
User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 27

GetTriggerUnit- has little to show at this moment (1)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicat
Yes, yes you can.

In fact, I'd say it's impossible to write a language in which nothing inefficient can be done. (How I wish it were possible!)

Collapse JASS:
function DoSomethingInefficient takes nothing returns nothing // does nothing
  integer i = 0
  loop
    exitwhen i == 1000
    call DoNothingBJ()
    call DoNothingBJ()
    call DoNothingBJ()
    call DoNothingBJ()
    set i = i + 1
  endloop
endfunction

YES, BUT it's still more efficient than if it was in GUI. :P Oh, Oh, Oh.
It would use bj_forLoopIndexA/B (unless you use a var... but NO)
If you want to impress me, USE bj_forLoopIndexA

Is there really a call DoNothingBJ()?

Like...
Collapse JASS:
function call DoNothingBJ takes nothing returns nothing
    call DoNothing()
endfunction

Are they this dumb?

Last edited by GetTriggerUnit- : 09-03-2009 at 01:53 AM.
GetTriggerUnit- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 01:56 AM   #26
cosmicat
Probably AFK
 
cosmicat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 635

cosmicat will become famous soon enough (71)cosmicat will become famous soon enough (71)cosmicat will become famous soon enough (71)

Default

Ah, right - even though they probably really ARE that dumb, I forgot the function was just DoNothing(). DoNothingBJ() as you describe would be funny, though.
__________________
+++++++++++[>++++++>++++++++++>++++++++++<<<-]>+.>+.++++.+>-.----.------.--.<.
cosmicat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 10:40 AM   #27
Flame_Phoenix
retired coder | real ilfe
 
Flame_Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,208

Submissions (10)

Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)Flame_Phoenix has a spectacular aura about (90)

Send a message via MSN to Flame_Phoenix
Default

Quote:
That's not quite right. (Well, maybe it is if this is one of the things Blizzard fixed.) AFAIK, though, you may declare ONE local variable in GUI. It just has to have a udg_ name and overwrite an existing global (more than one overwrite in the same trigger seems to cause crashes).
What you describe is, if I am not mistaken, shadowing. Blizz removed shadowing in patch 1.24b and their parser has some bad ass shadowing problems, so I would that doing that may no longer work.
__________________
Check out my tutorials at:
1-Creating a Hero Tavern
2-Complete Icon Tutorial - ALL about Icons
3-Making a spell in vJass - Practice Session 1
Check out all my current spells at here
Finally, check my project:
Castle vs Castle Flame Edition
Flame_Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 04:06 PM   #28
Cheezeman
User
 
Cheezeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 179

Cheezeman has little to show at this moment (1)

Default

Actually, I'm done with the part of my project I needed this list for.
Thanks anyway! :D
__________________
I have no signature yet
Cheezeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 02:04 AM   #29
GetTriggerUnit-
User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 27

GetTriggerUnit- has little to show at this moment (1)

Default

This site needs the DoNothingBJ

Working on it.

Last edited by GetTriggerUnit- : 09-04-2009 at 02:05 AM.
GetTriggerUnit- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services