wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Resources > Code Resources > Samples
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-24-2006, 10:23 PM   #16
Vexorian
Free Software Terrorist
 
Vexorian's Avatar


Technical Director
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14,898

Submissions (37)

Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)

Hero Contest #3 - 2nd Place

Default

Quote:
tables are prime examples of a blizzard.j fluff functions

Not really.

Tables are object oriented, they also have NewTable and NewTableIndex , something that is not present in gamecache natives. Tables are integrated to Attachable Variables, and they have auto flushing for null values like handle variables.

Gamecache natives don't have CopyTable() either.

But the more important thing about tables is that they encapsullate the whole return bug exploiters.

Let me talk to you about udg_cscache and all the problems that is to make a system have to implement its own gamecache variable. Besides of the extra stupid problem of copying the variable, to make sure the variable is initialized before it is used, then to make sure not to use much slots of gamecaches unless you want the system to unexpectively fail in multiplayer.

Then you have the direct usage of return bug exploiters which makes your code look stupid.

At the end GetTableUnit("[A]","B") is not gonna be slower than H2U(I2H(GetStoredInteger(udg_cscache,"[A]","B"))) because the return bug exploiters are extra function calls anyways. GetTableUnit is designed to do not use more than one extra function call, so they are equals but GetTableUnit will encapsullate stuff instead of using return bug exploiters directly and make your code look awful. Besides of the terrible confusions that they raise because of the thousands of variations of the lame return bug exploiters.

And they can't be blizzard.j fluff functions since they are not in blizzard.j

Of course you can use GetStoredInteger(CSCache(),"[A]","b") instead of GetTableInteger and also for the GetTableReal , GetTableBoolean and all that do not involve using the return bug.

In fact I even used it in this system.

No, you can't use udg_cscache becasue of initialization issues, it is better to expect the optimizer to fix that mess for you later.

Gamecache accessors are so slow themselves, the real reason of slowness in handle variables like usage are the return bug exploiters, one would think that they just change reference to another kind of reference but they seem to take too much time for that. So using gamecache natives directly with return bug exploiters is still really slow because of the actual gamecache usage and return bug exploiters that are still there
__________________
Zoom (requires log in)Wc3 map optimizer 5.0
Someone should fix .wav sound in this thing.
Zoom (requires log in)JassHelper 0.A.2.A
Turns your simple code into something that is complicated enough to work.
Faster != more useful
Vexorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 05-24-2006, 10:56 PM   #17
Meanie
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 152

Meanie is on a distinguished road (13)

Default

No offense Vex, i use CSCache Module all the times even with "Not handlers" because it looks better,indeed. Just explained how it was possible to convert it to katanas hande vars. But he should just add CSCache module anyway.

Nice System btw
Meanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 11:39 PM   #18
shadow1500
STARCRAFT II OMFG
 
shadow1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,004

Submissions (9)

shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)shadow1500 is just really nice (306)

Send a message via ICQ to shadow1500 Send a message via AIM to shadow1500 Send a message via MSN to shadow1500
Default

Quote:
then to make sure not to use much slots of gamecaches unless you want the system to unexpectively fail in multiplayer.
Umm, can you elaborate on that statment a bit more? how many slots are "too much"? and you refer to gamecache variables right?
shadow1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 03:36 AM   #19
weaaddar
User


Respected User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,372

Submissions (3)

weaaddar has a spectacular aura about (131)

Default

Theres a limit of 255 slots for gamecache objects in a profile.
If your profile already has 255 gamecaches trying to create a 256th will fail, and no data can be stored or retrieved from it.

ITs more of a problem in singleplayer where one might have a gamecache for var usage, and another for the stuff he wants to save. If you save either gamecache for whatever illogical reason both will be saved. Wasting precious slots.
weaaddar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 01:42 PM   #20
Vexorian
Free Software Terrorist
 
Vexorian's Avatar


Technical Director
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14,898

Submissions (37)

Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)

Hero Contest #3 - 2nd Place

Default

I got wrong I put multiplayer instead of single player in that statement, sorry.

Anyways I am not saying that people shouldn't use native gamecache + return bug exploiters I am saying that I am alergic to them because code doesn't look well to me but if you can and want to do so go ahead.
__________________
Zoom (requires log in)Wc3 map optimizer 5.0
Someone should fix .wav sound in this thing.
Zoom (requires log in)JassHelper 0.A.2.A
Turns your simple code into something that is complicated enough to work.
Faster != more useful
Vexorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 02:33 PM   #21
Chuckle_Brother
Oh for the sake of fudge
 
Chuckle_Brother's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 782

Submissions (2)

Chuckle_Brother will become famous soon enough (53)Chuckle_Brother will become famous soon enough (53)

Send a message via ICQ to Chuckle_Brother Send a message via AIM to Chuckle_Brother Send a message via MSN to Chuckle_Brother Send a message via Yahoo to Chuckle_Brother
Default

OHNOES! Vexorian is allergic to nasty code(time to hide anything I have ever made for fear of giving him some sort of episode).

But anyway, that limit has no effect in Multiplayer?
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Chuckle_Brother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 03:01 PM   #22
Vexorian
Free Software Terrorist
 
Vexorian's Avatar


Technical Director
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14,898

Submissions (37)

Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)

Hero Contest #3 - 2nd Place

Default

I don't really know but it shouldn't have an effect in multiplayer, mostly because there is no gamecache saving/loading in multiplayer
__________________
Zoom (requires log in)Wc3 map optimizer 5.0
Someone should fix .wav sound in this thing.
Zoom (requires log in)JassHelper 0.A.2.A
Turns your simple code into something that is complicated enough to work.
Faster != more useful
Vexorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 03:20 PM   #23
Chuckle_Brother
Oh for the sake of fudge
 
Chuckle_Brother's Avatar


Respected User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 782

Submissions (2)

Chuckle_Brother will become famous soon enough (53)Chuckle_Brother will become famous soon enough (53)

Send a message via ICQ to Chuckle_Brother Send a message via AIM to Chuckle_Brother Send a message via MSN to Chuckle_Brother Send a message via Yahoo to Chuckle_Brother
Default

Ah okay.
__________________
"...you play a mean banjo"
Chuckle_Brother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 03:21 PM   #24
emjlr3
Rehabbing
 
emjlr3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,386

Submissions (14)

emjlr3 is a jewel in the rough (151)emjlr3 is a jewel in the rough (151)

Mapping Contest First Place

Send a message via AIM to emjlr3 Send a message via MSN to emjlr3
Default

alright finaly got around to using this to create my own, nicely done btw, it helped alot, anyway to make the summon unclickable by the owner other then creating a trigger to do so?
__________________
emjlr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 03:23 PM   #25
Vexorian
Free Software Terrorist
 
Vexorian's Avatar


Technical Director
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14,898

Submissions (37)

Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)

Hero Contest #3 - 2nd Place

Default

No reason to make the summon unclickable. The whole reason for this system to exist is that Grater found a way to make units unclickable but still targetable.

The problem was that it required you to use a chaos ability for every single kind of summon.

So I made this system as an alternative to unclickable units, after all an uncontrollable unit results the same gameplay-wise I guess.
__________________
Zoom (requires log in)Wc3 map optimizer 5.0
Someone should fix .wav sound in this thing.
Zoom (requires log in)JassHelper 0.A.2.A
Turns your simple code into something that is complicated enough to work.
Faster != more useful
Vexorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 05:48 PM   #26
emjlr3
Rehabbing
 
emjlr3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,386

Submissions (14)

emjlr3 is a jewel in the rough (151)emjlr3 is a jewel in the rough (151)

Mapping Contest First Place

Send a message via AIM to emjlr3 Send a message via MSN to emjlr3
Default

well im going to make the units have abilities, which they will use in predetermined situations, and I don't want the owner to be able to use them when he wants, I will use them for the summons when I want in the coding
__________________
emjlr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 06:09 PM   #27
Vexorian
Free Software Terrorist
 
Vexorian's Avatar


Technical Director
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14,898

Submissions (37)

Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)

Hero Contest #3 - 2nd Place

Default

If you take a look, the bear in this map has war stomp ...
__________________
Zoom (requires log in)Wc3 map optimizer 5.0
Someone should fix .wav sound in this thing.
Zoom (requires log in)JassHelper 0.A.2.A
Turns your simple code into something that is complicated enough to work.
Faster != more useful
Vexorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 09:49 PM   #28
illidan92
Banned
 
illidan92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 289

illidan92 has a little shameless behaviour in the past (-10)

Default

I could really use this.

I have to admit, Vexorian is way out of my league. He's a genious! You should join blizzard and help on WoW or something to make it better.

Last edited by illidan92 : 08-05-2006 at 09:53 PM.
illidan92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 08:55 AM   #29
HunTer
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 42

HunTer has little to show at this moment (0)

Send a message via ICQ to HunTer
Default

Vexorian, can u do unselectable summons(something with Unit is selected, and unselect unit or add locust and remove it)
HunTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 02:53 AM   #30
Vexorian
Free Software Terrorist
 
Vexorian's Avatar


Technical Director
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14,898

Submissions (37)

Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)Vexorian has a reputation beyond repute (1062)

Hero Contest #3 - 2nd Place

Default

The only way to have an unselectable unit but still targeteable and vulnerable is to use a chaos morph after adding Aloc
__________________
Zoom (requires log in)Wc3 map optimizer 5.0
Someone should fix .wav sound in this thing.
Zoom (requires log in)JassHelper 0.A.2.A
Turns your simple code into something that is complicated enough to work.
Faster != more useful
Vexorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Affiliates
The Hubb The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services