wc3campaigns
WC3C Homepage - www.wc3c.netUser Control Panel (Requires Log-In)Engage in discussions with other users and join contests in the WC3C forums!Read one of our many tutorials, ranging in difficulty from beginner to advanced!Show off your artistic talents in the WC3C Gallery!Download quality models, textures, spells (vJASS/JASS), systems, and scripts!Download maps that have passed through our rigorous approval process!

Go Back   Wc3C.net > Tutorials > Tutorials for beginners
User Name
Password
Register Rules Get Hosted! Chat Pastebin FAQ and Rules Members List Calendar



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2006, 09:28 AM   #1
Bob27
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 116

Submissions (17)

Bob27 is a jewel in the rough (180)Bob27 is a jewel in the rough (180)Bob27 is a jewel in the rough (180)

Send a message via MSN to Bob27
Default Making a Basic Campaign

NOTE: You have been redirected in order for our attachments to be made available to you. This will only last two minutes; these measures where taken to avoid hotlinking and bandwidth theft.
To avoid these restrictions Log in or Register

The Campaign Editor

Introduction

The Campaign Editor is very simple to use. I hope you will find this tutorial useful. The Campaign Editor can make a .w3n file (Warcraft 3 Campaign File).

General Information

Zoom (requires log in)

This section in the Campaign Editor lets you change the name of the campaign, the difficulty, the author and description.

Zoom (requires log in)

The next part of this section lets you change the minimap display.

Zoom (requires log in)

The next part of this section lets you add, edit, extract and delete maps from the campaign file.

Zoom (requires log in)

This is a picture of a demo campaign I have made, it shows two maps i have added, a minimap preview, description, name, author, difficultly, ect.

Zoom (requires log in)

Adding a Map

Adding a map to your campaign is easy. Simply in the general section click on this button
Zoom (requires log in)

The Loading Screen Section

Zoom (requires log in)

This section of the Campaign Editor lets you edit the campaign screen, add campaign button and edit the music and sounds playing during the campaign screen. This picture is how you add a button to the campaign screen

Zoom (requires log in)

Zoom (requires log in)

The next picture shows how you can change the loading screen, and the shading of it.

Zoom (requires log in)

Now to add music to your campaign screen use this part of the Campaign Editor

Zoom (requires log in)

This is a picture of the loading screen section for the demo campaign.

Zoom (requires log in)

Custom Data

The Campaign Editor lets you make custom data. It works just like the Object Editor except the units you make in this section will be avaliable in every map in your campaign. Custom data made in the Campaign Editor will be blue, not pink like data in the Object Editor.

Zoom (requires log in)

Import Manager

This import manager works just like the normel import manager, except files imported here will be avaliable for use in evrery map. Also remember that the path will not be wc3mapimported\filename it will be wc3campimported\filename.

Zoom (requires log in)

Conclusion

This is a pretty simple tutorial. I have also included bellow my tutorial for Game Caches. incase any one needs it. If you have any questions private message me or email me at bob27dav@optusnet.com.au.

Tutorial Demo

You can download a demo for the tutorial here.

Game Caches

A Tutorial for Game Caches can be found here.
Attached Images
File Type: gif general.gif (17.4 KB, 1579 views)
File Type: gif information.gif (2.2 KB, 1254 views)
File Type: gif minimap.gif (6.4 KB, 1312 views)
File Type: gif maps.gif (3.6 KB, 1250 views)
File Type: gif generalfinished.gif (23.1 KB, 1246 views)
File Type: gif addmap.gif (453 Bytes, 1712 views)
File Type: gif loading.gif (16.3 KB, 1128 views)
File Type: gif button.gif (3.2 KB, 1003 views)
File Type: gif addbutton.gif (5.0 KB, 1009 views)
File Type: gif loadingscreen.gif (3.4 KB, 1008 views)
File Type: gif sound.gif (1.5 KB, 999 views)
File Type: gif loadingfinished.gif (19.0 KB, 1008 views)
File Type: gif data.gif (34.7 KB, 1083 views)
File Type: gif import.gif (13.9 KB, 1003 views)
Attached Files
File Type: rar Campaign Tutorial.rar (212.7 KB, 560 views)

Last edited by Bob27 : 04-08-2006 at 02:33 PM.
Bob27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Login to hide this ad!
Old 04-25-2006, 11:49 AM   #2
PitzerMike
Alcopops
 
PitzerMike's Avatar


Tools & Tutorials Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,791

Submissions (12)

PitzerMike is a splendid one to behold (643)PitzerMike is a splendid one to behold (643)PitzerMike is a splendid one to behold (643)PitzerMike is a splendid one to behold (643)

Approved Map: Pitzer's Minesweeper

Default

Good work, Bob27. Approved when the map is attached ...

EDIT: nvm, I added it for you :)
__________________
Zoom (requires log in)
PitzerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 08:49 PM   #3
HernanG
Alastor_36@pwnz
 
HernanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 617

Submissions (15)

HernanG is just really nice (254)HernanG is just really nice (254)HernanG is just really nice (254)HernanG is just really nice (254)HernanG is just really nice (254)

Send a message via MSN to HernanG
Default

very good tutorial, really useful ;D
HernanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 12:15 AM   #4
BBDino
Wc3c's resident llama.
 
BBDino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 944

BBDino has a spectacular aura about (95)BBDino has a spectacular aura about (95)BBDino has a spectacular aura about (95)BBDino has a spectacular aura about (95)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob27
Making a Basic Campaign

Now theres an oxymorom!
__________________
Say Yes! to stroking Llamas!
BBDino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 12:20 AM   #5
Taur
#8 in posting (nolifeftw)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,027

Taur is a jewel in the rough (215)Taur is a jewel in the rough (215)Taur is a jewel in the rough (215)Taur is a jewel in the rough (215)

Default

well it is .... named properly... very basic
Taur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 11:18 PM   #6
Immoralis
Working on AoBM
 
Immoralis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 514

Submissions (2)

Immoralis will become famous soon enough (47)Immoralis will become famous soon enough (47)

Send a message via AIM to Immoralis Send a message via MSN to Immoralis
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBDino
...oxymorom!

Oxymorom Indeed.
Immoralis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 10:37 PM   #7
Dalten
User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 255

Submissions (1)

Dalten is on a distinguished road (19)

Default

Quick question: Some time ago I added two maps to create the initial campaign. I wanted to copy some units from one map to the other, so I copied the units from one map into the Campaign Custom Data area. When I opened the map I wanted to add those units into, I found them (in blue like you say), but when the game started they were nowhere to be found. It's like the editor could use them but the maps couldn't. Why?
Dalten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 11:38 PM   #8
BBDino
Wc3c's resident llama.
 
BBDino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 944

BBDino has a spectacular aura about (95)BBDino has a spectacular aura about (95)BBDino has a spectacular aura about (95)BBDino has a spectacular aura about (95)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Immoralis
Oxymorom Indeed.

Oh noes!!!!!!!! Typo!!!

...............___@@@__
......_____//____?____\______
----o--------CARE-POLICE----@)
-----`--(@)=====+====(@)-
__________________
Say Yes! to stroking Llamas!
BBDino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 07:23 AM   #9
Zero R.
User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5

Zero R. has little to show at this moment (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Immoralis
Oxymorom Indeed.

I like mormons.

OK, not really.
Zero R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 12:25 PM   #10
Your_Master
User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10

Your_Master has little to show at this moment (0)

Default problom with campaign editor

if i put in the first map and put a "Change next level" then the next map on the
Campaign editor is in red, the first button works ingame
but then the second button that should play the second misson (in red)
won't show up

WHY?

This also means that i have to let the chapters show
too before i play it!

Last edited by Your_Master : 02-25-2007 at 12:36 PM.
Your_Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 05:11 AM   #11
Av3n
Roar!
 
Av3n's Avatar


Project Leader: TBR
Project Member: PoC
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,853

Submissions (7)

Av3n is a jewel in the rough (240)Av3n is a jewel in the rough (240)Av3n is a jewel in the rough (240)Av3n is a jewel in the rough (240)Av3n is a jewel in the rough (240)

Hero #4 extra-official winner2008 Spell olympics - Fire - BronzeHero Contest #3 - 3rd Place

Default

... You suck in this no offense really. Also you propaly forgot to assign an button for it and hide it as well, theres an option when you assign buttons for that (Cause red highlights means it doesn't work, blue highlights does)

-Av3n
__________________

Thanks to FatherTime for the sig
.:
Current ProjectsSubmissions
Power of CorruptionMy Terrain
The Black RoadMy Resources
Strikeforce
Twitter

Last edited by Av3n : 02-27-2007 at 05:11 AM.
Av3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 12:33 PM   #12
Your_Master
User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10

Your_Master has little to show at this moment (0)

Default

As i remember the real campaign, it shows the second
button when you finish the campaign before it
but it don't to me
Your_Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 02:25 AM   #13
Av3n
Roar!
 
Av3n's Avatar


Project Leader: TBR
Project Member: PoC
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,853

Submissions (7)

Av3n is a jewel in the rough (240)Av3n is a jewel in the rough (240)Av3n is a jewel in the rough (240)Av3n is a jewel in the rough (240)Av3n is a jewel in the rough (240)

Hero #4 extra-official winner2008 Spell olympics - Fire - BronzeHero Contest #3 - 3rd Place

Default

Tried trigerring it (its somehwere) it keeps the button visble

-Av3n
__________________

Thanks to FatherTime for the sig
.:
Current ProjectsSubmissions
Power of CorruptionMy Terrain
The Black RoadMy Resources
Strikeforce
Twitter
Av3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 02:18 AM   #14
Wraithwynd
User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 52

Wraithwynd has little to show at this moment (3)

Default

Hm.

Well kind of good. Although you did set this thread up with images and did supply a link to game cache tutorial (which returns a 404 error most likely not your fault) Your maps are kind of making a lot of assumptions about the ability or understanding of your pupil.

None of the triggers have comments.

And example would be the load game cache, you should have specified what tutorial01 means and how it applied to a person's campaign - the loading maps and unloading maps.

Your variable names and value names should be defined and you should state things like 'Here is where the name of your Chapter one Map goes', 'Here is where the name of your Chapter Two goes'

'The variable XXX or Value YYY can be named anything you want (usually your campaign) making certain you change it in trigger A, B, C...'

Tutoring (which is what a tutorial is) is a learning experience that tries to explain as much in detail as possible and make no assumption that the pupil has taken the time to down load or read the game cache tutorial.

All you did was make a map and place it there with the strange and terrifying entities like Cache, Variables, values unexplained - they sit there taunting the pupil not educating them.

I think you agree if you think about it that the tutorial maps/campaign could have been more educational for the student.

---> I'm not being judgmental or condemning, I am pointing out a few things which you may take under consideration.

Cheers
Wraithwynd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 11:11 AM   #15
Shade09
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1

Shade09 has little to show at this moment (0)

Send a message via ICQ to Shade09 Send a message via AIM to Shade09 Send a message via MSN to Shade09 Send a message via Yahoo to Shade09
Information Why?

All I wonder about my Campaign is that when my first map was finished or victorious it doesn't load the second map. Eventhough I put the next level in my trigger..Why?
Shade09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Donate

Affiliates
The Hubb http://bylur.com - Warcraft, StarCraft, Diablo and DotA Blog & Forums The JASS Vault Clan WEnW Campaign Creations Clan CBS GamesModding Flixreel Videos

Powered by vBulletin (Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd).
Hosted by www.OICcam.com
IT Support and Services provided by Executive IT Services